Anyone else like this idea? (Sky fading w/ altitude)

YSFlight general discussion & everything in between
User avatar
BreekiBoots
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 1:16 am
Favorite Aircraft: X-15 / Su-47 / SpaceShipOne
OS: Windows/Linux
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Anyone else like this idea?

Post by BreekiBoots » Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:00 pm

All of my stock aircraft are available, whereas only some of the modded ones are.

User avatar
Grigor
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:57 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 94 times

Re: Anyone else like this idea?

Post by Grigor » Tue May 09, 2017 7:13 am

I like this idea also, I think I posted about this exact idea elsewhere years ago. I've been playing with piggyback programs (like Dogfight, which I've been continuously tinkering with) that detect whether the name of the SCN file contains the word "night", and if so, automatically switch the time of day accordingly.

But to get the sky to darken with altitude... the only way I can see forward (especially considering also the so-so reception given to the latest release of YSflight) is to start writing a ground-up open-source program that will take all our planes and sceneries. Then we could do anything we wanted! Power to the modders!

WaitingFaster
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 12:32 pm
Favorite Aircraft: An-12
OS: Windows 10

Re: Anyone else like this idea?

Post by WaitingFaster » Fri Aug 04, 2017 1:48 pm

That's a good idea, but i didn't get how you do this.

User avatar
Flake
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4121
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Honda CBR600RR. Shit I mean Boeing F/A-18A.
Location: Newcastle, Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 752 times
Been thanked: 1022 times

Re: Anyone else like this idea?

Post by Flake » Sun Aug 06, 2017 12:23 am

BreekiBoots wrote:
Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:00 pm
All of my stock aircraft are available, whereas only some of the modded ones are.
1) Thanks for the necro, WaitingFaster (Who approved the post???)

2) Breeki, can I please ask what localistion your windows install is? Seems this is a problem involving how addon names are processed. OYS Isn't too good at using anything but en-au (or en-us)

Also I edited the thread title to be slightly more search friendly...
Image
(At this stage, I get more enjoyment coding for this game then playing it. Weird right?)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest