Page 1 of 1

Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 8:08 am
by NavyGator
I have been looking through all these threads, but have yet to run
across one detailing how one is to go about flying on any of the
servers. I'm not afraid to say that everytime I think I've got it,
I don't. So, I've been unable to join in any "Reindeer Games"
so-to-speak, So, what am I doing wrong? Lets find out,
somebody fill-in the appropriate directions please. Or, if this has
already been done, I'm willing to learn, please let me know where.

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:56 am
by Dragon029
This will apply for anyone else who's new to playing YSF online:

The only steps you should have to do are the following:

1. Open YSF and wait for it to load.
2. Click on "Network" on the top toolbar, to the right of the "Simulation" that you click to go flying.
3. On the drop-down menu (which lists "Server", "Client" and "Network Option"), click on "Client"
4. Open up the server list page here on YSFHQ, at the top of the page and look for a server that is online.
5. On the server list page, in the second column from the left, are the IP addresses for each server.
6. Copy the IP address of the server you want to go on and paste it into the box in YSF that's titled "Server Hostname (IP Address)". Click "OK".

7. Now, if the server is online and you have the map that the server is using, you will enter upon a black screen with white text and a blue box in the top right corner. If YSF temporarily freezes, then says "cannot connect to host"; post back here, because if the server is online, it may be a network issue on your end. If you see the black screen appear temporarily, but then YSF reverts back to the main menu, this means you don't have the map the server uses.

8. Now that you are connected to the server, you must wait for a message that states: "** Log-on process completed **". Before this appears, you will not be able to properly choose an airplane, start flying or observe.
9. Once that message does appear, along with a bunch of information, you will be able to select an aircraft, choose a starting position and then start flying by clicking "Join". If you just want to see what others are doing, you can click on "Observer Mode". In observer mode, you can view another person's plane by pressing F5 (this cycles the aircraft being viewed) and then pressing the usual camera buttons.

Some other notes:
If the server owner does not have a plane installed, you cannot use it.
If the server owner has a lot of planes installed, it will take longer for the log-in process to complete - the WW3 server only takes a few seconds to complete the process, others, like Ericts or the CVW-171's can take a few tens of seconds. The longest I've waited was about 3-5 minutes.
To speak to other players, press F12 and type your message. The Enter key will send the message, the Esc key will close the message.

Mod Edit: This post has been given the "What An Awesome Contribution" award by Iceman.

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 6:12 am
by NavyGator
Dragon029 wrote:If YSF temporarily freezes, then says "cannot connect to host"; post back here, because if the server is online, it may be a network issue on your end.
Yeah, that is what happens all-right. I've seen the server stuff only on my
end when I fly in server mode. I may have gotten on a Japanese server
one time, but, I'm not sure since I saw no other flyers. What other steps
might I need to take if it is some sort of network issue?

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:19 am
by Dragon029
Hmm; I'd say try the Japanese, "WW3" server again - the server / IP address is ww3.dip.jp
That's because their server is online 24/7.

If you still get a "cannot connect to host" message, then it might be that your firewall is blocking YSF from sending/recieving data. That's the only explanation I can think of at the moment though - are you using Windows XP, Vista or 7?

If you don't know, just copy what the sign says below, but do not post what your IP address is (spambots can use IP addresses and emails if they're posted on forums):

Image

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 2:03 pm
by NavyGator
I am running Vista on an Acer using an AMD Athion. It usually does not have
many problems. I can't get it to install some of the modeling software for some
reason, but, otherwise its fine. And I don't have an additional firewall <Gasp!>

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 5:24 am
by Dragon029
Cool, I have Vista as well.
To see whether YSF is being blocked, go to Control Panel in your Start menu.
From there, you should see a shield with "Security" next to it - under that is another shield with the text "Allow a program through Windows Firewall" - click it.

A box named "Windows Firewall Settings" will appear and it'll have a list of programs in it. Look down for "fsmaino" or "fsmaindx".
If the list is blanked or something, click on the "General" tab and make sure your Firewall is 1. turned on and 2. has the "Block all incoming connections" unticked.
Go back to the "Exceptions" tab.

If they're not present, click on the "Add program..." button on the bottom left.

Another box will appear with a list of programs; click on the "Browse..." button.
From here, navigate yourself to your YS Flight main directory. In there will be "fsmaino.exe" and "fsmaindx.exe". Choose one and click "Open".
It'll now in the list of programs that you can select from - click it so that it's highlighted in blue, then click "OK".

That version of YS Flight, should now have no issues with the Firewall. Click "Add program..." again and repeat the steps in the last paragraph, but select the other version ("fsmaino.exe" or "fsmaindx.exe") this time, just in case you need to use the other version for some reason.
While you still have that "Windows Firewall Settings" box open, you mas as well also make sure the box near the bottom, saying "Notify me when Windows Firewall blocks a new program", is ticked.

At the end of this process, make sure you click "Apply" before you press "Accept".

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 5:46 am
by NavyGator
Great!
You know, for some reason I keep forgetting that Windows has its own
Firewall. Now I really feel like a Noob. Well, I'm gonna try that out at the next opportunity (I'm at work right now). Thanks Again

(Post-Attempt Edit)
Well, the Windows Firewall says that FSMAINO and FSMAINDX both
have exemptions from being blocked, but, I still keep getting the
"CAN NOT CONNECT TO HOST" message. Is there another possible
stumbling-block that can occur? I think we've tried the most often
experienced problems. Could it have anything to do with my
connection. I know my ISP somehow uses RoadRunner, and I have
some sort of "wireless router" (supplied and installed by the ISP)
that allows us to use an un-connected laptop in the house (this is
quickly becoming my main suspect). Any ideas regarding a next-step?

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:11 pm
by Shutter
dontcha just love it when you find a thread that you can convert to a handy sticky?

Also this might sound a bit silly but I've had connection problems before exclusively with ysflight that were easily resolved by just unplugging/replugging my router and modem. You can always give that a shot, other than that if your firewall is allowing them through as dragon said everything should be fine so far as I know.

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:55 am
by NavyGator
Yeah, I thought that I would've found the topic already having been covered,
which is why I waited so long to ask (I was looking for it). And thanks for
that advice, I'll try it when I get the internet back up. I didn't want to do that
when I was recieving my cable and internet through one line (I would've
interrupted the cable signal as well [would not want to bring down the wrath
rest of the houshold]) but, the spouse had other plans and discontinued
service w/o letting me know it was going to happen, so I'll be trying to solve
my problem when we get the service back (I'll be inquiring of the installer
also). I want to get this little bug taken care of. Thanks again Shutter.

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:50 pm
by NoFear526
It says that server host error

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:06 pm
by Shutter
Well I'm still hoping that helps, but while I'm not sure if dragon mentioned it, you'll also want to check that under the general tab in network config your port is set to 7915. I think that one regulates both server and client.

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 5:36 am
by NavyGator
Shutter wrote:...you'll also want to check that under the general tab in network config your port is set to 7915. I think that one regulates both server and client.
I'm not sure, but I think I have tried that also; but, I'll keep it in mind
for when I get reconnected.

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 1:29 am
by MrFunnybone
mabye reinstall ysflight/?

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:32 am
by NavyGator
Tried it. But, I can try it again just for drill. Again, when I get reconnected.

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 7:16 am
by NoFear526
MrFunnybone wrote:mabye reinstall ysflight/?
no need. i dont use proxy

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:24 pm
by Midnight Rambler
Pinoycaptain2012 wrote:
MrFunnybone wrote:mabye reinstall ysflight/?
no need. i dont use proxy
...huh?

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:28 pm
by Raven
This thread is going down hill and he still has the same problem here, men.

Problem may be you have a router/firewall blocking connection.

Type your IP address into URL bar, hit search if a username password combination pops up, tally hoe you have a router.

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:51 pm
by Shutter
I doubt that's the issue. I guess it could be possible but router firewalls generally block incoming stuff, not outgoing stuff. It might give him trouble hosting a server but generally I don't think it would affect the client mode.

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 5:33 am
by NavyGator
Thanks for the bump Raven, but right now I'm waiting for my wife to
get out of her funk and allow the computer to have an internet connection
again. She's convinced I spend too much time on the computer, so she got
rid of our connection. The cable was in her name, so I'm having to play the
flash-drive internet-connectivity game. (Having to Down-load and Up-load
via a flash-drive at an alternate site.) Never fear though, I'll be looking to
fix that problem when I do get hooked up.

Re: Getting into the servers' skies

Posted: Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:20 pm
by GimiGlider
anyways...anyone know how to fix network issues on a macbook? I know captain ys's server runs 24/7, but I can't connect.