Wingtip smoke.

YSFlight general discussion & everything in between
Post Reply
User avatar
plunderbird
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:05 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F5 A10 SR71
Location: Wellingborough England
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Wingtip smoke.

Post by plunderbird » Fri Nov 25, 2011 3:28 pm

Having seen Zak's Typhoon Tiger. I thought about this idea.
If you want to alter the .dat, so you can get smoke from the wing tips. Set the smoke points as the location where 'condensation' comes from.

Here are a few aircraft that I have seen, in real life with either 'smokewinders' or generators.
F16, F18, F22, Su27, Mig 29 and an aerobatic glider!

I would suggest using 'Noodle' smoke, as this would make it look more "realistic". As the trails made are thin ones.
Fliped out of the arena, again! :(

User avatar
Scarecrow
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1264
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:08 am
Favorite Aircraft: T-50B
Location: IND
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 287 times

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by Scarecrow » Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:07 pm

Smoke is made actually from evaporating oil that is injected into the exhaust, not condensation from the air, like clouds.

Is beneficial for aerobatic/display purposes as well as airline contrails at high altitude. I do think that noodle is quite to thin and has no depth to it at all. I think we'll stick with whatever the poofy kind is (not towel). Works to be the best, but is a bit "fat" no doubt.

"si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes"

Image

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3562
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 626 times
Been thanked: 1364 times
Contact:

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by decaff_42 » Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:49 am

Do you think It would be possible to go about attaching the smoke generators to the wingtips by making a smoke.srf file that would act like a weapon when you select the smoke option before flying. A simple quick edit of the .dat would make them loadable onto the wingtip hardpoints, and so you could have smoke generators on just about any plane with minimal editing.

@Scarecrow
Would it be possible to change the thickness of the normal smoke? I agree that it is a bit fat, but not overly so in a way that takes away from the acrobatics.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

Shutter

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by Shutter » Sat Nov 26, 2011 2:14 am

Can't edit default smoke size AFAIK

User avatar
waspe414
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1262
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: CH-136 Kiowa, Yak-130 Mitten
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by waspe414 » Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:06 am

decaff_42 wrote:Do you think It would be possible to go about attaching the smoke generators to the wingtips by making a smoke.srf file that would act like a weapon when you select the smoke option before flying.
Smoke generators simply won't work like that. They are a function of the .dat rather than a weapon. Also, to make smoke pods a loadable weapon would require hacking the main exe, so no on both accounts.

Also, no, smoke is of fixed thickness, either infinitely thin (noodle of towel), or a few meters thick (solid).
Actual UltraViolet
Image Image
Image
I stole your turnip. Now you must come and defend your honour. ~ Hank Green

User avatar
plunderbird
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:05 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F5 A10 SR71
Location: Wellingborough England
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by plunderbird » Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:03 am

I agree that solid is a bit thick, but having flown the aircraft on my list. (In the first post) The only one that I think is in need of 'noodle smoke' is the glider.

@ scarecrow. I know smoke is not condensation. What I ment is put the smokegenerator points, where the condensation (vapour) piont's are, in the .dat listing.

As for smoke pods, e.t.c good ideas. But i think it's best left as it is.
Fliped out of the arena, again! :(

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3562
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 626 times
Been thanked: 1364 times
Contact:

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by decaff_42 » Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:46 pm

@ plunderbird

Meh, I'd rather have a simple smoke attachment. Just a matter of opinion. :D
Either way you'd have to edit the .dat file to either add the weapon or make another smoke generation site. I guess in hind sight it would be less hassle for individual planes to make new generation sites, due to the simplicity. If you were to make a mass update to a large number of planes, of varying makes and models, the pod would be easier to add to the .dat than going in an manually doing each one.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
plunderbird
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:05 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F5 A10 SR71
Location: Wellingborough England
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by plunderbird » Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:21 pm

decaff_42 wrote:@ plunderbird

Meh, I'd rather have a simple smoke attachment. Just a matter of opinion. :D
Either way you'd have to edit the .dat file to either add the weapon or make another smoke generation site. I guess in hind sight it would be less hassle for individual planes to make new generation sites, due to the simplicity. If you were to make a mass update to a large number of planes, of varying makes and models, the pod would be easier to add to the .dat than going in an manually doing each one.
I agree with the idea of a simple attachment. Like a pod. But it will cause problems, as waspe 414 said.

I've alterd the .dat on a small number of aircraft. And have been happy with the results. :D I'd love to fly one or two at a YSF airshow, but I don't have net conection. :( (I'm writing this on a library computer).
Fliped out of the arena, again! :(

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3562
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 626 times
Been thanked: 1364 times
Contact:

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by decaff_42 » Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:16 pm

I wish i could get online too, but I just don't have the time to figure out my mac's glitches with YSF servers. Too many papers and twenty hour homework assignments to get done... :(
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
waspe414
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1262
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: CH-136 Kiowa, Yak-130 Mitten
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by waspe414 » Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:59 pm

plunderbird wrote:But it will cause problems, as waspe 414 said.
Didn't say it would cause problems, I said it is physically impossible. The current game coding simply does not allow for adding weapons on the fly.


Let me make this clear as well: The .dat is not the answer to every whim of the player. There is no line you can add to it to make new weapons, make nukes, make spaghetti, whatever. The .dat is not a window into the program code.

The .dat is a collection of lines, or variables, that have already been programmed into the game. If you put anything new in, the game code will not know what you're trying to do with that line, and it will merely generate an error.

Also, if you think you have an amazing idea, try it. If it doesn't work, chances are it is impossible.
Actual UltraViolet
Image Image
Image
I stole your turnip. Now you must come and defend your honour. ~ Hank Green

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3562
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 626 times
Been thanked: 1364 times
Contact:

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by decaff_42 » Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:25 pm

Understood, but that being said, there's lots of room to mod aspects of YSF outside of the .dat file.

Rather than make a new weapon like a smoke pod, would it be possible to modify the characteristics of a missile so that it didn't leave the pylon, but still created the smoke as it is fired? I think that would be the closest anyone could ever come to making a pod.

Like I've said elsewhere, I have 0 experience with modding YSF, so I don't know the limitations that other people have learned. I'm trying to simply think of get-arounds to the limitations I do know of to get the results I want to try to make in the future.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
waspe414
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1262
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: CH-136 Kiowa, Yak-130 Mitten
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by waspe414 » Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:51 pm

decaff_42 wrote:there's lots of room to mod aspects of YSF outside of the .dat file.
You'd think, but there really isn't. Almost everything is hardcoded into YS, weapons included. You can't add or modify them without hacking YS.
Actual UltraViolet
Image Image
Image
I stole your turnip. Now you must come and defend your honour. ~ Hank Green

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3562
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 626 times
Been thanked: 1364 times
Contact:

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by decaff_42 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:39 am

waspe414 wrote:Almost everything is hardcoded into YS, weapons included. You can't add or modify them without hacking YS
I was thinking more about making planes and maps, as well as changing the looks of the weapons. I know that might not seem like much to some members of the community who've been here a while, but for me it's still amazing the things that can be done.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
plunderbird
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 352
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:05 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F5 A10 SR71
Location: Wellingborough England
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by plunderbird » Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:45 pm

As I see it. Unless you put the data in the .dat file, like Zak has for his Typhoon Tiger. You can only fly with wingtip smoke, if you change the .dat for a particular aircraft. Then you can fly with it. But only on your own offline.
Fliped out of the arena, again! :(

User avatar
Midnight Rambler
Staff
Staff
Posts: 2120
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 11:08 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 259 times
Been thanked: 360 times

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by Midnight Rambler » Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:57 pm

plunderbird wrote:As I see it. Unless you put the data in the .dat file, like Zak has for his Typhoon Tiger. You can only fly with wingtip smoke, if you change the .dat for a particular aircraft. Then you can fly with it. But only on your own offline.
More or less... Unless a server owner changes it, then everyones version will change while online.
Image

User avatar
Honey Badger
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1843
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Anything that gets off the ground
Location: From Louisiana, stationed in Alabama
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by Honey Badger » Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:43 pm

waspe414 wrote:The .dat is not a window into the program code.
HAHAHAHaha...heh...heeeh........

I think I've heard that some where...
USAF Computer Systems Programmer (3D0X4)
"Powerpoint Ranger"

User avatar
aeTIos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C, A-10A
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Wingtip smoke.

Post by aeTIos » Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:48 am

(can I still post here?)
My idea: just ask Suji for a smoke size variable.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest