YS is control-less

YSFlight general discussion & everything in between
Post Reply
User avatar
aeTIos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C, A-10A
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

YS is control-less

Post by aeTIos » Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:41 am

Hi, I've got a problem here. YS is 'control-less' for me on some PCs. That means that I can set controls but that all the controls are blanked out when I leave the screen, which results in not being able to do anything. I am running YS from a flash drive, if that helps. Does someone know this problem and know how to fix it? Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Strik3agle98
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:03 am
Favorite Aircraft: any thing that have double delta wing, twin tailed
Location: in the planet name EARTH
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: YS is control-less

Post by Strik3agle98 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:48 pm

does you keep switch a computer
all the setting will on the computer's hard drive
Image
Image

User avatar
aeTIos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C, A-10A
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: YS is control-less

Post by aeTIos » Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:53 pm

Yeah I keep switching PCs. But, the thing is that I can't set controls and so...

User avatar
wingzfan99
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:03 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing 757-200
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 48 times
Contact:

Re: YS is control-less

Post by wingzfan99 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:57 pm

They are wiped out when you leave the screen? Do you mean if you let the computer go to sleep? It may be that your settings aren't saving back to the flash drive before sleep/hibernation. I would recommend trying to set up all of your controls, then exit the game (this will ensure they get written back), safely remove your flash drive by ejecting it in whatever way your particular OS allows you, then put it back in, restart YS, and see if your controls stuck.
Wingzfan "The Budgetman" 99
Treasurer, YSFHQ

Founder and Admin of the site once known as YSUpload

User avatar
aeTIos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C, A-10A
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: YS is control-less

Post by aeTIos » Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:58 pm

No. The controls are wiped out when I leave the "key assignments" screen.

User avatar
Raven
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16
Location: Eastern, USA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: YS is control-less

Post by Raven » Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:27 pm

Completely un install Ys, and re install.

Not quite sure if the flash drive has anything to do with it.. May need to further investigate.
Image
Image
"The Aggressor Order"

User avatar
Flake
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 4354
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 836 times
Been thanked: 1238 times
Contact:

Re: YS is control-less

Post by Flake » Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:54 pm

YSFlights control config is stored in "User/*/Documents/YSFlight.com/YSFlight"

Seeing as you are using a flash drive, yeah you;re pretty much screwed sorry.

You could try and copy that file across to the root directory on your flash drive, but I doub't that'll fix it.

Something that really disappointed me as part of the "windows vista fix" really...
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

User avatar
Strik3agle98
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:03 am
Favorite Aircraft: any thing that have double delta wing, twin tailed
Location: in the planet name EARTH
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: YS is control-less

Post by Strik3agle98 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:13 pm

I have tried it on flash drive already when I switch computer all the configuration is lost
Image
Image

User avatar
Honey Badger
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1843
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Anything that gets off the ground
Location: From Louisiana, stationed in Alabama
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: YS is control-less

Post by Honey Badger » Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:35 pm

You need to install YS on that comp in order to run correctly. As an after thought, do you have the 'YSFLIGHT.COM" folder from "Documents" (or similar) on the flash drive? Programming sends the comp to certain folders (the way the air*.lst tells YS where the aircraft are) and if the comp can't find the correct file there, it won't work properly.
USAF Computer Systems Programmer (3D0X4)
"Powerpoint Ranger"

User avatar
aeTIos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C, A-10A
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: YS is control-less

Post by aeTIos » Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:04 pm

That is what bothers me: I tried installing YS from USB TO the PC, and that did not work too...

User avatar
Honey Badger
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1843
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Anything that gets off the ground
Location: From Louisiana, stationed in Alabama
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: YS is control-less

Post by Honey Badger » Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:06 pm

Did you run the setup? Also, are the two "YSFLIGHT.COM" folders on there (the thumb drive)? That extra folder may affect the path the comp takes when looking for a file as-well.
USAF Computer Systems Programmer (3D0X4)
"Powerpoint Ranger"

User avatar
Midnight Rambler
Staff
Staff
Posts: 2120
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 11:08 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 259 times
Been thanked: 360 times

Re: YS is control-less

Post by Midnight Rambler » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:37 pm

I run mine through a USB. When you controls are set up, save the configuration as a separate file onto the USB. I do this with my joystick button configuration.
When on another computer simply press load, select the file and you're set.
(I'm not on the computer at the moment so I can't take screenies, will later though).
Image

User avatar
aeTIos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C, A-10A
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: YS is control-less

Post by aeTIos » Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:25 pm

Fixed it by copying all YS config stuff to the folder. Should create some .bat file for doing this on a new PC
EDIT: Is there NO WAY to just load the stuff in the config folder? Should poke Soji about that. (his email is that one that's at the bottom of the YS page, no?)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests