Page 1 of 1

Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 8:38 pm
by Venom
Whenver I try to install the new one through the setup.exe, and have the new version overwrite my old YSFlight folder, it says this.
Failed to coply/generate a file. Installation was unsuccessful. Please check to see if you have write permission of the target directory, if the target directory is write-protected, and try again.
I am running on Windows 7 thus not requiring me to backup my old directory like I would have to on XP. It should just overwrite the YS Directory Files.

Thanks for your help.

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 8:53 pm
by Scarecrow
Put the new installation "somewhere" else. In a folder in your desktop, somewhere. Also, save the "YSFLIGHT.COM" file (with the configs you have set) in your Documents folder. Put this on your desktop so you have it and it doesn't get re-written with stock set-up configurations when you get the new version.

Just take the new .exe's and replace the other exe's in your core YSFlight folder, and re-write the "YSFLIGHT.COM" file in your documents with what you saved.

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 12:07 am
by VNAF ONE
I don't know what I've done differently than you all but I always just install my new versions of ys right where they're recommended to go and my addons all stay there. I don't necessarily back up anything.

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:29 am
by Philster
Scarecrow wrote:Put the new installation "somewhere" else. In a folder in your desktop, somewhere. Also, save the "YSFLIGHT.COM" file (with the configs you have set) in your Documents folder. Put this on your desktop so you have it and it doesn't get re-written with stock set-up configurations when you get the new version.

Just take the new .exe's and replace the other exe's in your core YSFlight folder, and re-write the "YSFLIGHT.COM" file in your documents with what you saved.
I don't thing this is the greatest way to update ysflight. If you only change the exe. files, you won't receive the updated models, dats. and ground objects Soji has added to the latest version.

What I usually do is I back up my sound, misc, and lsts. files (there are extra lines I've added) and install over my current ysflight.

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:12 am
by Crazypilot
I do something along the lines of what Philster does.

I back up all my maps and airplanes or misc weapon mods and then un-install YSFlight. I then download the new version where the old one previously was. I don't delete the YSFLIGHT.COM files though, that way, my configurations are saved.

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:39 am
by Shand
You shouldnt have to back-up the .lst files.
If any additional mods ect have been done right they should make their own .lst files
(eg: gro_RPFS.lst)
If that isnt the case and the instal for the mods suggest adding the lines to an .LST just make a new one
eg: gro_Mods.lst

I think that should work.

whenever i upgrade (in the past) i copied out my config folder and copied it back in if i needed to.

As for permissions, thats nothing to do with YS, thats windows 7 - are you an admin account? i presume you have installed ys in ProgramFiles/ysflight.com/ys or similar? often windows is protective of prog_files. try "installing" elsewhere and copying everything on top of the original (bar the config folder as i've said above)

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:40 pm
by lorDuckFeet
I downloaded the 2012 version of YSFlight for Windows 7, when I'm playing some errors appear :x

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:53 pm
by Shand
errors like what? what are they consistent with doing something in particular?
Help us to help you.
Help us to help you.
Help us to help you.

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 8:06 pm
by Venom
Fsmaino.exe crashes everytime I try to boot up Direct3D or OpenGL and this is the new version that I just installed.

EDIT: I am running windows 7 32-bit. And the last addon that loaded was: air_RPFS.lst

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:43 am
by Flake
FSMAINDX also crashing here for me.

It's purely addon based I think.

Why the hell soji changed the addon reading format I have no idea...

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:02 am
by Shand
yeah it does sound like add-on related. I dont have many add_ons (just the RPFS ones)

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 6:27 am
by iqmal_97
This is why I didn't update my Ysflight files. I'm scarred.

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 6:50 am
by Gunny
This is the way I did it and had no problems.
Move all your files from the Ysflight.com/Ysflight to a different location.Do not copy any config files so as not to confuse the new install.Than UN-install the existing Ysflight with your native UN-install utility.Than check that all Ysflight installations have been deleted including the Ysflight files in the my documents file.Than do a clean install with the updated version.Then do a cut and paste of your backed up files to the new install making sure to ok your backed up files to overwrite the new files.If you do not have admin rights you may need to get them first depending on your O/S.

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:19 am
by iqmal_97
Gunny wrote:This is the way I did it and had no problems.
Move all your files from the Ysflight.com/Ysflight to a different location.Do not copy any config files so as not to confuse the new install.Than UN-install the existing Ysflight with your native UN-install utility.Than check that all Ysflight installations have been deleted including the Ysflight files in the my documents file.Than do a clean install with the updated version.Then do a cut and paste of your backed up files to the new install making sure to ok your backed up files to overwrite the new files.If you do not have admin rights you may need to get them first depending on your O/S.
Thnx a bunch Gunny. I'll try it tomorrow.

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 1:43 pm
by FrenchTOZT
I have not had problems so far with it. the only problem was losing all my configurations.
I am sure as what everyone else mentioned, just drag the exes in.

Re: Help installing the new Version of YS

Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:45 am
by iqmal_97
Just installed, works great with addons not hitching any problems. Now, for retrieving my custom sounds. The stock ones just doesn't do it 4 me.