how to do air to air refueling

YSFlight general discussion & everything in between
Post Reply
User avatar
Silver Sergeant
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 5:10 am
Favorite Aircraft: Mig 29 fulcrum
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 1 time

how to do air to air refueling

Post by Silver Sergeant » Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:01 am

i saw in some screen shots that people are doing air to air refueling, how do i set one up in single player?
Image <-- i am not that blue creature in the cockpit now

я не русский. лололол :D

User avatar
Greenhorn
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:05 pm
Favorite Aircraft: A320, B737, F-5E, Gripen, Mirage F-1
Location: Cooped up in 1788
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 298 times
Been thanked: 353 times
Contact:

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by Greenhorn » Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:41 am

The thing is, you can't actually refuel mid-air in YSFlight. How I did it is:
1) Choose a aircraft with a probe or visible markings on the fuel door. (Probe: F-5, MiG-29, Flying boom: F-16, F-15)
2) Choose a tanker that has a probe/boom depending on the aircraft you chose. (KC-135 or IL-76)
3) Spawn both craft on the ground. Go up to your wingman tanker and deploy the boom/drogue.
4) Fly a long way from the runway.
5) Call your wingman with ENTER and tell him to fly on your wing.
6)Once he's at a safe altitude, tell him to stay in holding pattern.

Happy flying!
The War RoomImageMalaysiaball, 2nd from the left
Triggered easily, do not startle

User avatar
Catraille
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:38 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-106
OS: OSX 10.10, Fedora 25
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by Catraille » Fri Mar 14, 2014 12:57 pm

3 ways to do that:
  • Tanker Ground Object
    Launch Scenery Editor, put a tanker ground object in a scenery, elevate it, and assign elevated motion paths.
    Reference: YSMajor's Vietnam Map
  • Tanker Aircraft
    Launch Scenery Editor and insert a tanker aircraft in a scenery.
    Reference: Default North Kyushu Map
  • "Recording"
    1. Launch YSFS and fly a tanker for a while
    2. Terminate Simulation
    3. Open Simulations menu -> Select Airplane
    4. Select an airplane you want to do aerial refueling with the tanker
    5. Then select starting position. Make sure that you are starting from a position which the tanker didn't use.
    6. Select "Fly Now!" to fly.
    I uploaded a video for reference:
    [BBvideo 560,340]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IeQJhU_i82U[/BBvideo]
ImageImage

User avatar
Greenhorn
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:05 pm
Favorite Aircraft: A320, B737, F-5E, Gripen, Mirage F-1
Location: Cooped up in 1788
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 298 times
Been thanked: 353 times
Contact:

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by Greenhorn » Fri Mar 14, 2014 1:26 pm

I should try those later...

Also, you'll need tons of practice. It took me MANY tries before I could get my first refueling shot, and I still have problems now. A few things I noticed is you should approach the tanker like you would a runway, start your approach far enough so you can align with the tanker. Approach slowly (-1KTS) and try to keep it steady while you're still a distance away (A mile or so?). It keeps you calm and you get used to keeping the plane steady. Keep your adjustments tiny. If you over compensate you'll start to over correct your movements. If you're feeling a little frustrated, take a break!

Most importantly, have fun! :D
The War RoomImageMalaysiaball, 2nd from the left
Triggered easily, do not startle

User avatar
PR1NC3 D4RK5T4R
Banned
Banned
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 6:08 am
Favorite Aircraft: SU-47
Location: Mandeville, LA
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by PR1NC3 D4RK5T4R » Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:59 pm

I thought it was only possible on WW3...
Image

User avatar
Eric
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1497
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:30 am
Favorite Aircraft: Super Hornet
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Has thanked: 59 times
Been thanked: 148 times
Contact:

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by Eric » Sat Mar 15, 2014 12:46 am

True aerial refueling is not possible with the stock YS, but with serverside plugins it can become possible. The guides here are just to get the same visual effect as aerial refueling without actually increasing the fuel load.
I make this website.

User avatar
iqmal_97
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: Sukhoi Su-30MKM
Location: Somewhere in Asia
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 742 times
Been thanked: 190 times
Contact:

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by iqmal_97 » Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:43 am

Greenhorn wrote:The thing is, you can't actually refuel mid-air in YSFlight. How I did it is:
1) Choose a aircraft with a probe or visible markings on the fuel door. (Probe: F-5, MiG-29, Flying boom: F-16, F-15)
2) Choose a tanker that has a probe/boom depending on the aircraft you chose. (KC-135 or IL-76)
3) Spawn both craft on the ground. Go up to your wingman tanker and deploy the boom/drogue.
4) Fly a long way from the runway.
5) Call your wingman with ENTER and tell him to fly on your wing.
6)Once he's at a safe altitude, tell him to stay in holding pattern.

Happy flying!
Never thought of doing it like that. My method was faaaarrr more tedious. Might wanna use this for future screenies. Who knows, I might dig this whole refueling fiasco again. :lol:
Image
[N007HA]Nynaiqmal_97 <= My usual online callsign
Mein Imgur gallery. Feel free to use any of my screenshots (Crediting me is optional, but greatly appreciated)

Falcon2622
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 12:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16 FIGHTING FALCON and Boeing 777
OS: Windows

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by Falcon2622 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:18 am

Greenhorn wrote:
Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:41 am
The thing is, you can't actually refuel mid-air in YSFlight. How I did it is:
1) Choose a aircraft with a probe or visible markings on the fuel door. (Probe: F-5, MiG-29, Flying boom: F-16, F-15)
2) Choose a tanker that has a probe/boom depending on the aircraft you chose. (KC-135 or IL-76)
3) Spawn both craft on the ground. Go up to your wingman tanker and deploy the boom/drogue.
4) Fly a long way from the runway.
5) Call your wingman with ENTER and tell him to fly on your wing.
6)Once he's at a safe altitude, tell him to stay in holding pattern.

Happy flying!
Hello sir, great method you showed here. I just want to know how you deploy the boom from your wingman tanker? Your response will be kindly appreciated. :D

User avatar
Greenhorn
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:05 pm
Favorite Aircraft: A320, B737, F-5E, Gripen, Mirage F-1
Location: Cooped up in 1788
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 298 times
Been thanked: 353 times
Contact:

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by Greenhorn » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:55 am

IIRC you have to have both of you spawn on the runway, you should be able to switch planes if you have 2015 version of YS. Switch, deploy the boom (1 or PG Down depending on plane) and switch back to your "receiving" plane. Do note the wingman will fly in a circle and not level.
The War RoomImageMalaysiaball, 2nd from the left
Triggered easily, do not startle

Falcon2622
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 12:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16 FIGHTING FALCON and Boeing 777
OS: Windows

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by Falcon2622 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:56 am

Greenhorn wrote:
Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:55 am
IIRC you have to have both of you spawn on the runway, you should be able to switch planes if you have 2015 version of YS. Switch, deploy the boom (1 or PG Down depending on plane) and switch back to your "receiving" plane. Do note the wingman will fly in a circle and not level.
How to switch between aircrafts if you don't mind I ask? Thank you.

User avatar
Greenhorn
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:05 pm
Favorite Aircraft: A320, B737, F-5E, Gripen, Mirage F-1
Location: Cooped up in 1788
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 298 times
Been thanked: 353 times
Contact:

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by Greenhorn » Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:05 am

Image

Make sure both aircraft are at a complete stop and click on the change vehicle button.
Then when back in your own aircraft command the tanker wingman with Enter.
The War RoomImageMalaysiaball, 2nd from the left
Triggered easily, do not startle

Falcon2622
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 12:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16 FIGHTING FALCON and Boeing 777
OS: Windows

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by Falcon2622 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:24 am

Greenhorn wrote:
Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:05 am
Image

Make sure both aircraft are at a complete stop and click on the change vehicle button.
Then when back in your own aircraft command the tanker wingman with Enter.
Thanks a lot Greenhorn. I couldn't have done it without you. Now I will be able to do some air refueling scenarios, though it is quite tricky and takes some practice. Lol!

User avatar
Granny Apple Smith
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 992
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 249 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: how to do air to air refueling

Post by Granny Apple Smith » Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:05 pm

FWIW Flake did implement air to air fueling in open ys. You can either run your own server or hop in the YSCAS server. If theres no one online to refuel you you can run another seperate instance of YS and log into the server with a diffrent username, spawn in the tanker and set the auto pilot to circle in a area and set to straight and level when youre ready to fuel
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest