need tech advice: graphics cards

From the American Heritage Dictionary
mis·cel·la·ne·a - pl.n.: Miscellaneous items or written works collected together.
Post Reply
User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3868
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win 10
Has thanked: 1647 times
Been thanked: 1745 times
Contact:

need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Neocon » Sat Jun 07, 2014 6:32 am

I'm wanting to add a real graphics card to my CPU-rendered machine. I know how to physically connect a PCI card (I've installed sound and LAN cards in the past). I don't know the jargon and technical details.

HERE is my computer. It says it it supports PCI Express x16 graphics cards.

HERE is the card I'm looking at. I know it is only a 1GB card, but I think the current system is supposed to provide either 128,256, or 512MB of memory for graphics. I can't remember. The main reason I am looking at this one is that it only needs a 300 watt power supply, and my computer has a 300 watt power supply. :roll:

My concern is that the computer specs say PCI Express x16 and amazon says this card is for PCI Express 2.0. The question/answer area leads me to believe that they are compatible, but I've seen bad answers before on amazon.

Does anybody have any other suggestions in the $25-35 price range that will work with my computer and not need a bigger power supply?

Will this be as simple as "plug-and-play" or will I need to install something before connecting the card?

Yes. I am cheap.

EDIT: Will this card let me use the new version of OpenGL YSF? :lol:

User avatar
Welshy
Staff
Staff
Posts: 2030
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Sea Jet
Location: Wales
OS: Windows NT
Has thanked: 241 times
Been thanked: 239 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Welshy » Sat Jun 07, 2014 7:47 am

Pat,
1. What is the machine used for other than YS?
2. Your machine isn't CPU rendering, it has integrated graphics which is a separate chip
3. EVGA isn't known as a good make, spending more for a better make is normally the best thing to do.
4. Card isn't compatable
5. PCI Express x16 1 and 2 are compatible but if you put a 2 in a 1 it will run at the band width of PCIe 1.
6. MSI HD5450 would be my way to go, in the UK it is about £20 and about $30 on Amazon

Nick
YSFHQ Elected Overlord
Overlord of VMFA-125 (CVW-171)
Previously Supreme Overlord of 323rd CAW
Friendly Neighbourhood Miscreant
Head Honcho at Talking Aero and British Defence
If you see me post like this in a thread pay attention!

User avatar
Flake
VFA-49
VFA-49
Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 838 times
Been thanked: 1247 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Flake » Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:59 am

You can pick up a GTX 650 from PC Case Gear at around 150 AUD - surely it's going to cost similar in other places.

EDIT: http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?mai ... s_id=21452

http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop ... erformance

I intend to buy one for my rig - a few generations behind but more then enough oomph for your machine to take advantage of.

Plugs into the standard PCI - your motherboard says it has one so just make sure that it's not being used.

EDIT: Seems to support PCI x16 - that's a good thing for you.
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

User avatar
Welshy
Staff
Staff
Posts: 2030
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Sea Jet
Location: Wales
OS: Windows NT
Has thanked: 241 times
Been thanked: 239 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Welshy » Sat Jun 07, 2014 11:09 am

Flake he did say cheap!
YSFHQ Elected Overlord
Overlord of VMFA-125 (CVW-171)
Previously Supreme Overlord of 323rd CAW
Friendly Neighbourhood Miscreant
Head Honcho at Talking Aero and British Defence
If you see me post like this in a thread pay attention!

User avatar
Flake
VFA-49
VFA-49
Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 838 times
Been thanked: 1247 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Flake » Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:27 pm

It's 150 bucks! That is cheap! Go look at the price for a titan!
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

User avatar
Nath
Penguin Airways VA
Penguin Airways VA
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Panavia Tornado GR4
Location: EGXW/EGNX
OS: Win10
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Nath » Sat Jun 07, 2014 1:26 pm

Well, for your money, you'll hardly get much performance increase. Most graphics cards are much more expensive than $25-35, and If you bought one for that price, it's doubtful you'll get a performance increase of that much, but it's better than intel HD Graphics by far.

However, it will work. PCI Express 2.0 is upwards compatible, PCI x16 slots will work with PCI 2.0, it's just x16 slots are there so you can get more power out of more powerful cards.

Most graphics cards are good around this area for "plug and play" ability. It's just a case of booting up your computer with your new Graphics card, with it installed in your PCI slot going to your manufacturer's website, i.e nVidia if you're getting the 210, and downloading the drivers.

The best graphics card for your buck is the probably the one that you're looking at though, one of my closest friends has a GT210, and it works for him. And yes, it'll let you run OpenGL YSF, or it should do.

If you need any more questions answered, just ask.

@Welshy EVGA's good... I'm an ASUS Guy tho.

EDIT:

It's probably download the drivers with your regular graphics card first, i.e the one that you're using now, then run the drivers when you've installed your new graphics card.
Image

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3868
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win 10
Has thanked: 1647 times
Been thanked: 1745 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Neocon » Sat Jun 07, 2014 3:33 pm

My uses for this computer are mostly things like browsing the internet, watching video sites like youtube and hulu, and YSF and MS FS9 with the occasional Halo or Need For Speed thrown in. All of these things are doable, but, for example, playing a video in full screen HD gives bad frame rates. FS9, Halo, or Need For Speed have to be set to the lowest graphics levels to work, and Halo (the first one) barely works then.

I looked at the one Flake suggested. It's only $109 US on amazon, but needs a 400 watt power supply that will cost another $30-40. I know that would give me good results and is really a cheap card compared to most graphics cards, but my comment was that I'm cheap, and that means not only do I not want to pay that much, but I'm willing to settle for less quality. :lol:

After looking at the Nvidia site, I am thinking about getting THIS instead. It costs a few dollars more, though.

User avatar
Nath
Penguin Airways VA
Penguin Airways VA
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Panavia Tornado GR4
Location: EGXW/EGNX
OS: Win10
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Nath » Sat Jun 07, 2014 3:42 pm

a GTX 610 would do quite well, it's a DX11 card, which is fairly good, and it's way way quicker than the one you were originally suggesting. I would go for that, since a little bit more money spent has a fairly big pay off in the graphics card market.
Image

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3868
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win 10
Has thanked: 1647 times
Been thanked: 1745 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Neocon » Mon Jun 09, 2014 5:58 pm

Today I tried to run Blender. The User Preferences window froze the program. I looked it up and found it is a problem with Intel graphics drivers. I tried to update those drivers and Intel said it couldn't be done because they were "custom". I went over to HP and tried to update the drivers from their site and it keeps saying I need to install a program that doesn't seem to work before it can even check for updates!

What a wonderful day. :roll:

This is why I need to make some changes on this computer.

User avatar
Welshy
Staff
Staff
Posts: 2030
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Sea Jet
Location: Wales
OS: Windows NT
Has thanked: 241 times
Been thanked: 239 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Welshy » Mon Jun 09, 2014 6:48 pm

The card I suggested will do everything you need with some and then some left over. Cheap and reliable, being MSI it is well built, in fact you won't find any other computer components as well built as MSI or Crucial
YSFHQ Elected Overlord
Overlord of VMFA-125 (CVW-171)
Previously Supreme Overlord of 323rd CAW
Friendly Neighbourhood Miscreant
Head Honcho at Talking Aero and British Defence
If you see me post like this in a thread pay attention!

User avatar
Nath
Penguin Airways VA
Penguin Airways VA
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Panavia Tornado GR4
Location: EGXW/EGNX
OS: Win10
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Nath » Mon Jun 09, 2014 7:05 pm

No need to pour water on your fire here welshy, but the 610 is plenty faster, since it has a higher base clock, more CUDA Cores (nVidia only).

Anyway Patrick, that 610 would do you a world of good.
Image

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3868
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win 10
Has thanked: 1647 times
Been thanked: 1745 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Neocon » Mon Jun 09, 2014 7:07 pm

Is this a GeForce/Radeon debate? ;)

User avatar
Nath
Penguin Airways VA
Penguin Airways VA
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Panavia Tornado GR4
Location: EGXW/EGNX
OS: Win10
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Nath » Mon Jun 09, 2014 7:33 pm

It may well be.
Image

User avatar
Welshy
Staff
Staff
Posts: 2030
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Sea Jet
Location: Wales
OS: Windows NT
Has thanked: 241 times
Been thanked: 239 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Welshy » Mon Jun 09, 2014 8:44 pm

Going on about chipsets isn't that relevant for the tasks needed, GRAM and length of life (build quality) are more important for a cheap card.
YSFHQ Elected Overlord
Overlord of VMFA-125 (CVW-171)
Previously Supreme Overlord of 323rd CAW
Friendly Neighbourhood Miscreant
Head Honcho at Talking Aero and British Defence
If you see me post like this in a thread pay attention!

User avatar
Nath
Penguin Airways VA
Penguin Airways VA
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Panavia Tornado GR4
Location: EGXW/EGNX
OS: Win10
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Nath » Mon Jun 09, 2014 8:50 pm

Funnily the 610 has more GRAM, and EVGA is pretty good, since they are the flagship makers for all nVidia Cards.

Choose as you will Patrick, I'm just gonna keep going on about how nVidia cards are the best, and so on, I personally think that the 610 would be a great addition, and likes aside, any graphics card will help you a ton.
Image

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3868
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win 10
Has thanked: 1647 times
Been thanked: 1745 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Neocon » Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:53 pm

My only experience with either brand is a Radeon card that is 14 years old.

I was about to go with the one Welshy suggested just because it is $10 less and, like he said, it will probably be all I'll need. I found on their website that they recommend a 400 watt power supply where the GeForce only recommends 300 watts. I don't want to find myself underpowered.

-- Mon Jun 09, 2014 5:53 pm --

Then I see this: MSI GeForce 610

User avatar
Nath
Penguin Airways VA
Penguin Airways VA
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Panavia Tornado GR4
Location: EGXW/EGNX
OS: Win10
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Nath » Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:00 pm

That'd do nicely, since it's basically the same as the EVGA one, but just made by MSI.
Image

User avatar
Welshy
Staff
Staff
Posts: 2030
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Sea Jet
Location: Wales
OS: Windows NT
Has thanked: 241 times
Been thanked: 239 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Welshy » Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:03 pm

MSI are the brand to go, I can't say that enough :P
YSFHQ Elected Overlord
Overlord of VMFA-125 (CVW-171)
Previously Supreme Overlord of 323rd CAW
Friendly Neighbourhood Miscreant
Head Honcho at Talking Aero and British Defence
If you see me post like this in a thread pay attention!

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3868
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win 10
Has thanked: 1647 times
Been thanked: 1745 times
Contact:

Re: need tech advice: graphics cards

Post by Neocon » Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:17 pm

Now I just have to wait for my paycheck on Friday.

-- Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:17 pm --

I got my card installed. There was a slight improvement in YSF, and it is compatible with fsmaino2. I was able to greatly increase the graphics settings in FS9. I haven't tried Halo or NFS:World yet. Youtube looks pretty much the same, but I'm really interested in seeing what HD video looks like, especially since I can clone the screen to my TV with the HDMI.

When I got the computer back together and turned it on, I didn't have any sound. I did everything, including my first visit to the BIOS screen I've made on purpose. I finally tracked it down to inserting the wrong wire (one that wasn't attached to anything!) into the speaker jack.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 30 guests