time to start making things

YSFlight addon development, questions, tutorials, & more!
Captain_Ahab
Rookie
Rookie
Favorite Aircraft: Cavalier Turbo-Mustang III

Post by Captain_Ahab »

I just registered and joined here because I love airplanes
I like the challenge of adding things to a game that aren't just something I bought, but something I made
that and everything looks like it runs so smooth

I have some experience with blender. I've spent a bit of time making military miniature designs to be 3d printed. I figure I can modify the models I've done to work in the game.
https://www.thingiverse.com/captain_ahab_62/designs

sure, the wings and details are chunky, but these should be a nice base to work off of, rather than starting from scratch
if nothing else, some of the tanks and afv's should work as target models

anyways, I'm still getting set up and ready to learn making scenery first, while I get blender set up
its a pity that file import/export scripts aren't up to date. There are a lot of planes to work on
Copperhead
Veteran
Veteran
Favorite Aircraft: YF-23A Black Widow II

Re: time to start making things

Post by Copperhead »

Howdy there.

I'm just gonna start off by saying I'm both really impressed and really excited with your models. When I went to your page on thingiverse, I was not expecting 14 pages of content. That's a seriously impressive array of models you have, and it includes a lot of my favorites which haven't been implemented as YS' mods yet.

Your models may be a little rough, but they are easily workable, especially if you do them up them in a GAC/HQPGAC style, though if you're ambitious enough to try HD models, that would be welcome too. I'm sure if you ever need any help, or just have questions, more than a few people will be here to assist you including me, even though I've been burned out on blender and YS for quite some time.

Anyways, welcome to HQ, we're definitely happy to have you.

^The Happy Murican^

<BoH
Captain_Ahab
Rookie