Page 1 of 1

Weapons Pack Issues

Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:26 am
by ToxicSkylinesMH10
Hey guys, I know that I have been in YS for an extremely long time, and this will be a very noobish question, But I recently downloaded the BNI Weapons Pack, and I installed it. However, none of my planes seem to use them. The planes only use the originals

Trust me. Ive gone through the mental checklist of YS Pack installations.
I really cant figure out why its doing this. :(


Any help would be great

Re: Weapons Pack Issues

Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:37 am
by waspe414
Weapons packs are simply over-writes of the default weapons (they don't add weapons to the game). Copy them into your Misc folder, replacing the stock ones.

Re: Weapons Pack Issues

Posted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:53 am
by ToxicSkylinesMH10
I did this already, but for some reason, the old ones just keep showing up :cry:

Re: Weapons Pack Issues

Posted: Sat Sep 24, 2011 2:35 am
by Midnight Rambler
What plane were you using? One in particular, stock, every?

Re: Weapons Pack Issues

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 2:26 am
by ToxicSkylinesMH10
Hey guys, I have it working (almost all the way)

Alright, well I deleted everything in the MISC folder and then reinstalled YS, (that way I got everything back in original order)
However, it still didn't work, so what I decided to do was to manually copy and paste ONLY the particular SRF. files for the basic weapons.

What this basically means is that despite there being about 3 versions of every kind of missile, I took the basic SRF. file from (lets just say) an AIM9X,
and I put it in the MISC folder (apart from the labelled folders in the BNI Weapons pack.

so, I replaced the original AIM9X.SRF file with the one from (lets just say) AIM132. (which is different somehow from the other AIM9X missiles)
(AIM9X, AIM2000, and AIM132 are all AIM9x missiles I believe) not too sure about that


but for some reason, when I do this MANUALLY, it works
just letting windows replace all the folders doesn't work for me unfortunately :cry:
I'm not really sure why, and I wish it would actually work, but I suppose I cant have everything :(

IT WORKS, But not the way its supposed to



EDIT: ohhh and at Midnight, it wouldn't work on any of the planes, stock or not.

Re: Weapons Pack Issues

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 5:04 am
by Philster
Wait... so did you put the folders of the weapons into the misc folder? When you install weapons, all you have to do is replace the old srfs. with the new srfs. So I think your new method is the correct one.

Re: Weapons Pack Issues

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 5:40 am
by ToxicSkylinesMH10
yes I did, but what Im saying is that I had to manually, copy and paste the main bomb, AIM120, AIM9, and AIM9X Srf. files into the main MISC folder.

The misc folder having all the other folders within itself

Re: Weapons Pack Issues

Posted: Sun Sep 25, 2011 5:47 am
by Philster
There shouldn't be any folders inside the Misc. folder itself. When you install weapons, you just paste the content of each folder into the Misc. folder. For example, lets say you want to have the Fab250 as your 250lb bomb. All you have to do is click on the folder, and move everything on the inside of the folder into the misc. folder. But you probably knew this anyway. Sorry if I misunderstood anything you said.

Re: Weapons Pack Issues

Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:29 pm
by Iceman
Sorry Toxic, you're about to feel mighty stupid.

The weapons pack was laid out in such a way that I allowed players to choose their own replacements, under the assumption that you knew what each weapon was. All the replacements are in their own folders - it is up to you to manually pick and choose each weapon that you want. I have at least 2 replacements for each weapon type.

The types of weapons are: AIM9X, AIM9, AIM120, B500, B250, RKT, ROCKET, B500HD, AGM65, FLR, and FUEL.

This is not a simple drag drop install. Sorry.

Re: Weapons Pack Issues

Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2011 6:39 pm
by ToxicSkylinesMH10
Ive just figured this out :lol:


oh Lordy, the troubles that I had to go through to figure that one out.
I download each pack under the assumption that I just need to move folders rather than individual files.
I got it all working now.

I completely reinstalled YS last night (not because of weapons) and so everything is fresh now and I have my back up bank :)

I appreciate the last words of information though :lol: