Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

YSFlight addon development, questions, tutorials, & more!
Post Reply
BarLock
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:50 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-15E
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

Post by BarLock » Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:25 pm

Hello! Having a bit of trouble folks. About yesterday i gave painting a try, and I was able to load a plane (tf58 c130) for the first time. I played around with the model for a while and trying different painting techniques. Then after closing Blender, and opening it again, I once again attempt to load a plane except this time, I get an error that simply states "ERROR: File does not exist!" And I end up with nothing in the 3D view panel. I tried reinstalling the scripts, even Blender as a desperate attempt, and was once again able to load the plane...FOR ONE TIME ONLY! Plus it seemed that any other plane I tried would not load either. If there's anyone out there with a solution please help me with my case.

And if there's a post that already sloves this problem sorry for briging up an old topic, i didn't find anything similar to this though...

ToxicSkylinesMH10
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 10:30 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-22C
Location: 626
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

Post by ToxicSkylinesMH10 » Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:35 pm

Are you sure that you're importing DNM. files and not just "Loading" planes?

BarLock
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:50 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-15E
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

Post by BarLock » Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:36 pm

I'm positive. I've checked for the dmn at the end.

ToxicSkylinesMH10
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 10:30 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-22C
Location: 626
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

Post by ToxicSkylinesMH10 » Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:58 pm

Well what I mean more specifically is, are you "Importing" rather than "loading" ?

User avatar
Crazypilot
Honorary Contributor
Honorary Contributor
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:22 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C
Location: Pakistan
Has thanked: 192 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

Post by Crazypilot » Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:30 pm

I have the same problem too,I out the script files in the script folder and the python files in the python folder and then when I open up blender and try to import dnm models in ysf it does not work.
Boneless Pizza

BarLock
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:50 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-15E
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

Post by BarLock » Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:53 pm

Hey i'm just letting everyone know that i've just solved my problem, thanks to a little tip from Neil ;) . Which means i'm now able to work on those planes with you Toxic!

DavideV
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:27 am
Favorite Aircraft: Aermacchi MB339, Piaggio P.180 Avanti
Location: Rome, Italy
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

Post by DavideV » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:01 pm

...and what was the solution?
"The only job where you start at the top is digging a hole" (from TinyTower BitBook)

ToxicSkylinesMH10
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 10:30 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-22C
Location: 626
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

Post by ToxicSkylinesMH10 » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:05 pm

Yes I am curious as well, what was your solution?

BarLock
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:50 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-15E
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

Post by BarLock » Fri Sep 30, 2011 1:15 pm

Oh right! The solution :lol: Sorry to keep you waiting folks. See what Neil advised was that i take the dmn of the plane i want and import it into my computer's desktop file. Then When i look for it in Blender and locate it there iclick import and there it is. :D So to anyone having that same problem, I suggest trying what I did, especially you Crazypilot since you seem to be in a similar situtation.

User avatar
vincent
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:31 pm
Favorite Aircraft: virtual ones
Location: Toulouse, France
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

Post by vincent » Fri Sep 30, 2011 8:08 pm

Were there line numbers associated with the error?

You mean that moving the .dnm file to the Desktop solved your problem?

DavideV
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 373
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:27 am
Favorite Aircraft: Aermacchi MB339, Piaggio P.180 Avanti
Location: Rome, Italy
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: Error Issue: Loading dmn files into Blender

Post by DavideV » Fri Sep 30, 2011 8:40 pm

Actually, I have the same problem on my Win7 PC... I export the DNM, blender says the file is there but when I explore the folder there's just nothing... I guess there's some blender itself issue managing folder access privileges. I didn't bother going deeper in the thing...
"The only job where you start at the top is digging a hole" (from TinyTower BitBook)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests