Page 1 of 1

Blender Addon

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:43 am
by abcjake
I am trying to import my dnm file using blender. When I go to install the necessary addons, the menu says: "One or more addons is not Unicode UTF-8 encoded". I would imagine this means I didn't install the addon correctly. Yes, I have followed all the instructions I have found on the forums. I have tried everything I could think of. Any solutions? I can use another editor if I have to.



Thanks

Re: Blender Addon

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:44 am
by Shutter
open it in a text editor like notepad and make sure you save it with UTF-8 encoding

Re: Blender Addon

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:26 pm
by abcjake
Alright, I tried that. This time, the UTF-* encode error didn't show. The addon didn't show either. I've tried replacing some of the existing and working codes with the code from this one, but the error shows again.

Any more ideas? I don't absolutely have to use blender, I can use a different program.

Re: Blender Addon

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 4:05 pm
by NavyGator
abcjake wrote:Alright, I tried that. This time, the UTF-* encode error didn't show. The addon didn't show either. I've tried replacing some of the existing and working codes with the code from this one, but the error shows again.

Any more ideas? I don't absolutely have to use blender, I can use a different program.
It may be saving it using a the wrong file extention. Sometimes I'll catch notepad trying to save things as .txt instead of the extention that I need it to be saved as.

Re: Blender Addon

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:03 pm
by abcjake
No, I have been saving it as a ".py" file, encoded with UTF-8. When I put it in the blender addon folder, it still doesn't show. I have to manually select the file, and it doesn't do a thing.

Re: Blender Addon

Posted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 10:43 pm
by vincent
I am quite surprised by this error.

Do you have a screenshot of the error please?
If it is was I think, I'll post a fix.