Page 1 of 1

How to set the size of an object?

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:15 am
by aeTIos
As per topic title. I made a ground object but it's really small. Upsizing seems to work, but "ymmv" ish.
Is there a reliable way to set the size of an object? TIA :D

Re: How to set the size of an object?

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:37 am
by Flake
Unfortunately you need to make a new object every time.

I'm assuming you are using bland-er? eh I'm no expert but decaff is, I'm sure he'll chime in soon.

Each unit, in game, is one meter. for example, an object 2.50 units wide will appear 2.50 meters wide in game.

Re: How to set the size of an object?

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 2:48 pm
by decaff_42
You called? :D

Yeah sizing things can be a bit of a pain, and working in microscale and then scaling up can have some consequences with the way blender rounds to 3 decimal points. (micro differences can be smaller than that)

Personally, I would recommend that whenever you are trying to begin a project that you insert a default cube to gain a perspective on the scale of what you are working on. (space -> mesh -> cube) The cube defaults to a 2m x 2m x 2m sized cube, and from that you can tell, if you need to scale things initially and then correct, or you are working in the right scale.

Re: How to set the size of an object?

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 5:57 pm
by aeTIos
So I figured it'd be better if I put all my questions into one thread rather than making a dozen help threads. I now made my object, made a very very simple map, and put the object on it. Then I loaded it up. Everything is fine, except the object does not show up! :o Saving, etc. went fine, the object is there in the .fld file, and when I add an "alert" hangar thing, that also shows up. I'm puzzled, because I think I did everything correct. Any ideas?

Re: aeTIos's Map Making Help Thread

Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:34 pm
by Flake
I would actually prefer you made a dozen threads.

If anyone else searches the forum, the answer to thier question is right there.

Re: aeTIos's Map Making Help Thread

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:17 am
by aeTIos
Ok, fair enough. I'm off making a dozen threads.
Will edit post #1 again.

Re: How to set the size of an object?

Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 2:49 am
by NightRaven
Bump
aeTIos wrote:Ok, fair enough. I'm off making a dozen threads.
Please, can everyone make their queries made known in this forum? The latest four threads in this sub-forum are just questions, and I feel that they should be in that forum, which is essentially a collection of modding questions.

Re: How to set the size of an object?

Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 10:28 am
by aeTIos
Oops, my bad. I didn't see that forum. Will make new questions there.
Also, mods: please move this topic :)