Object not showing up in game

YSFlight addon development, questions, tutorials, & more!
Post Reply
User avatar
aeTIos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C, A-10A
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Object not showing up in game

Post by aeTIos » Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:29 am

Ok, I have a problem here... I made a ground object, made a map, imported the object into the map. But when I then wanna check out my ground object, it's not there.I checked and it is in the .fld, just not being rendered.

Any ideas?

User avatar
Gunny
Business Class Membership
Business Class Membership
Posts: 3224
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Any thing with a prop.
Location: New Iberia.LA.
OS: Windows XP SP3
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 731 times

Re: Object not showing up in game

Post by Gunny » Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:25 am

For your ground object you should have at the vary least 2 files.A ground object .Dat and a .Srf file although a .Dnm can be used for your visuals and possibly a collision file depending on the complexity of the ground object.But remember the more complex the ground objects the more lag they will induce.
Image[/align=centre]

User avatar
Flake
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 4354
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 836 times
Been thanked: 1238 times
Contact:

Re: Object not showing up in game

Post by Flake » Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:56 am

objects won't render if they are not in your ysflight build... do you have multiple builds of YS?
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

User avatar
aeTIos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C, A-10A
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Object not showing up in game

Post by aeTIos » Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:43 am

How do you mean? I have only one copy of YS running.
The .dat and .srf files are okay, because the object does render in the scenery editor. It's almost as if it's not loaded in the game due to some bug or so.

-- 04 Apr 2014, 09:43 --

Okay, turns out I had to add a coarse model ^.^;
This is what it looks like now: Image

User avatar
Flake
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 4354
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 836 times
Been thanked: 1238 times
Contact:

Re: Object not showing up in game

Post by Flake » Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:06 am

LST Structure:

DAT, DNM, COLLISION FILE, COCKPIT FILE, COARSE FILE.


How many items are in your list? As I mentioned in another thread, if you have 2 items per line instead of the 3 minimum, epic flail.
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

User avatar
aeTIos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C, A-10A
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Object not showing up in game

Post by aeTIos » Sat Apr 05, 2014 11:48 am

Yup, didn't have a collision file. Just using the same mesh now.

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3565
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 629 times
Been thanked: 1364 times
Contact:

Re: Object not showing up in game

Post by decaff_42 » Sat Apr 05, 2014 3:55 pm

you will want to use a coarser mesh for the collision file. It will simplify the load that YSF has to calculate for collisions because there are fewer vertices to be closer to.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
aeTIos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C, A-10A
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Object not showing up in game

Post by aeTIos » Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:52 pm

I know, I'll probably go to a hexagonal mesh eventually. But for now, I just want the model to show up :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests