Error exporting dnm

YSFlight addon development, questions, tutorials, & more!
Post Reply
User avatar
CalvT
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 7:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: F/A-18E
Location: 404: Location not found
OS: Win 10 x64 Dual Boot
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Error exporting dnm

Post by CalvT » Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:05 pm

I've been happily export dnms from blender, but now I've got this error
Image
Any ideas?
Thanks
Image
Image

User avatar
aeTIos
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C, A-10A
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Error exporting dnm

Post by aeTIos » Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:20 pm

Maybe reinstall blender?

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3563
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 627 times
Been thanked: 1364 times
Contact:

Re: Error exporting dnm

Post by decaff_42 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:58 pm

me thinks that re-installing the scripts might be the way to go. If you open up those script files you might be able to see what on the lines went wrong. the error report gives script file and line number
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
CalvT
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 7:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: F/A-18E
Location: 404: Location not found
OS: Win 10 x64 Dual Boot
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Error exporting dnm

Post by CalvT » Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:27 pm

Tried both and no go. Could it be a problem with one of the meshes? Because I've just noticed that it says JA.001 - which is one of the meshes. But what would the problem be?
Thanks
Image
Image

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3563
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 627 times
Been thanked: 1364 times
Contact:

Re: Error exporting dnm

Post by decaff_42 » Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:33 pm

That is a possibility. What is JA.001? is it a mesh, or a curve or something else?
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
CalvT
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 7:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: F/A-18E
Location: 404: Location not found
OS: Win 10 x64 Dual Boot
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Error exporting dnm

Post by CalvT » Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:39 pm

Yes its a mesh, of some text. To get this text - I created it as text in blender, then exported it as an obj file. I then opened my .blend file, and imported the text as obj, then shrinkwrapped it. After that I tried to do the export, which failed.
Image
Image

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3563
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 627 times
Been thanked: 1364 times
Contact:

Re: Error exporting dnm

Post by decaff_42 » Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:47 pm

okay...First of all, you can get text much easier.

space -> add -> text

Then select your font and type away.

Then convert to mesh
(select text object) alt -> c

Then it is a mesh and can be shrinkwrapped.
You might be getting an error from all the exports and imports.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest