Add Texture?

YSFlight addon development, questions, tutorials, & more!
Post Reply
User avatar
Scarecrow
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1264
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:08 am
Favorite Aircraft: T-50B
Location: IND
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 287 times

Add Texture?

Post by Scarecrow » Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:14 pm

Soji had inserted a hummingbird on his map with the new texture application in Scenery Edit. I have downloaded the most recent test version that features this.

However, when I go to Edit>Texture>Add, choose my image, and hit add, nothing shows up. Any reason why?

"si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes"

Image

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3844
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win 10
Has thanked: 1612 times
Been thanked: 1727 times
Contact:

Re: Add Texture?

Post by Neocon » Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:31 pm

You have to insert a rectangular region or elevation grid and add the texture to that. It will fill the entire region or grid, so I suggest making the image the same number of pixels as the number of meters of the object.

User avatar
Scarecrow
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1264
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:08 am
Favorite Aircraft: T-50B
Location: IND
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 287 times

Re: Add Texture?

Post by Scarecrow » Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:46 pm

Interesting. I've been playing around with it and yet to have any success.

"si hoc legere scis nimium eruditionis habes"

Image

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 272 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: Add Texture?

Post by Barr » Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:07 am

I havent had any success either
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3844
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win 10
Has thanked: 1612 times
Been thanked: 1727 times
Contact:

Re: Add Texture?

Post by Neocon » Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:14 am

I managed to get a texture on an elevation grid. In my opinion the result wasn't worth the work involved.

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 272 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: Add Texture?

Post by Barr » Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:48 am

Same here....

I dont see a drop down menu option for the rect regions as soji said...



---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nevermind Im such an idiot. Soji said rectangle not rectangle region.

So inserting a texture via a Rectangle:

Edit>Texture>Add>ESC>"U">Object>Map>Insert Element>Rectangle

In the top let corner a little box should appear and in there should be a texture selection menu.


And via Elevation Grid:

Edit>Texture>Add>ESC>"U">Select item>"select elevation grid>Object>Elevation grid>Properties

In the properties box in the top left corner should be a drop down menu for textures
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests