Fix Start-Up/LST File Errors

Iceman
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 1399
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C Viper
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 137 times

Fix Start-Up/LST File Errors

Post by Iceman » Sun Sep 11, 2011 11:47 pm

There have been a number of new users with startup errors, so I figured I'd write this step by step tutorial on how to fix the problem or delete the entry altogether.

[hr]s[/hr]Note: These problems vary by add-on. Before attempting this fix, please verify that you've put the list file and user files in the correct places.
[hr]as[/hr]


Step 1:
Image

Step 2:
Image

Step 3:
Image

Step 4:
Image

Post any questions in this thread. Hope this helps!

If you are using linux and have many errors, you may find that this solves your problem.
You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '' at line 1
Homie I'll SQL YOUR syntax

User avatar
iqmal_97
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1762
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: Sukhoi Su-30MKM
Location: Somewhere in Asia
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 766 times
Been thanked: 190 times
Contact:

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by iqmal_97 » Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:53 am

The GAC Repaint pack has tons of these errors. It took me a while to fix the broken .lst files (by simply deleting them of course). I hope in the future they will fix this issue. Why? You may ask? Cuz it's a pain in the back removing them. :x
Image
[N007HA]Nynaiqmal_97 <= My usual online callsign
Mein Imgur gallery. Feel free to use any of my screenshots (Crediting me is optional, but greatly appreciated)

User avatar
Dragon029
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:09 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-35A
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by Dragon029 » Wed Sep 14, 2011 12:56 pm

Like how many errors? Tens of errors?

If so, I wouldn't rule out an installation mistake - I personally have had very few errors with the GAC guys.
Royal Australian Air Force
Per Ardua Ad Astra
>>> Dragon Addon Pack <<<
(PAK-FA, F/A-52, F/A-36, MQ-21)

User avatar
Crazypilot
Honorary Contributor
Honorary Contributor
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:22 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C
Location: Pakistan
Has thanked: 191 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by Crazypilot » Thu Sep 15, 2011 8:16 am

Last time I installed the GAC repaint pack I ended up holding the enter button for two minutes to make all the errors go away.Not an installation problem but something wrong with the list it seems.
Boneless Pizza

User avatar
iqmal_97
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1762
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 8:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: Sukhoi Su-30MKM
Location: Somewhere in Asia
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 766 times
Been thanked: 190 times
Contact:

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by iqmal_97 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:36 pm

Yeah, but it has been a long time since i've updated me Reapint pack. But who knows, maybe tomorrow i'll re-download them again and see what goes.
Image
[N007HA]Nynaiqmal_97 <= My usual online callsign
Mein Imgur gallery. Feel free to use any of my screenshots (Crediting me is optional, but greatly appreciated)

User avatar
Honey Badger
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1843
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Anything that gets off the ground
Location: From Louisiana, stationed in Alabama
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by Honey Badger » Thu Sep 15, 2011 6:03 pm

How would one fix a sce_*.lst? I always get "cannot load Stp" followed by "cannot load Guilin" (major pack 1).
USAF Computer Systems Programmer (3D0X4)
"Powerpoint Ranger"

User avatar
Martin-Dutchie
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 5:13 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-20A Tigershark
Location: Somewhere between the dykes
Has thanked: 55 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by Martin-Dutchie » Thu Sep 15, 2011 7:49 pm

It works exactly the same. Check if the scenery folders from the guilin scenery are in the right spot. If they aren't, move them if you know where they are, or download a new copy, and manually install the stuff in the right place.

User avatar
NavyGator
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:34 am
Favorite Aircraft: Prop-Driven civil
Location: near Airport HXD
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by NavyGator » Fri Sep 16, 2011 7:48 am

What does it mean when you encounter ground items in the STP list?
Image

User avatar
waspe414
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1177
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: CH-136 Kiowa
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 168 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by waspe414 » Fri Sep 16, 2011 7:47 pm

In the actual .stp file?
Actual UltraViolet
Image Image
Image
I stole your turnip. Now you must come and defend your honour. ~ Hank Green

User avatar
NavyGator
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:34 am
Favorite Aircraft: Prop-Driven civil
Location: near Airport HXD
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by NavyGator » Sat Sep 17, 2011 8:00 am

No, in the start position selector during flight creation. I've got two maps that do that to me and I'm hoping I don't have it screwed up too bad. It seems I must have something in the wrong place but I'm not sure what or where.
Image

User avatar
waspe414
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1177
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: CH-136 Kiowa
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 168 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by waspe414 » Sat Sep 17, 2011 5:03 pm

What happens when you start from that position?

Are you sure the start position wasn't just named for its proximity to a ground object?
Actual UltraViolet
Image Image
Image
I stole your turnip. Now you must come and defend your honour. ~ Hank Green

User avatar
NavyGator
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:34 am
Favorite Aircraft: Prop-Driven civil
Location: near Airport HXD
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by NavyGator » Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:14 am

Affirmative, I usually end up in the middle of nowhere on one map, and within killing distance of an enemy outpost on the other. Seems like it is always the same spot though regardless of selection.

Yep, I'm sure. I've looked in a few ground folders and there are repititions of items also, Line after line of parked aircraft, Hangers, towers, AA units, etc. I'll see if I can post caps of it when I get back to my own computer.

edited:
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
waspe414
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1177
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: CH-136 Kiowa
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 168 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by waspe414 » Sun Sep 18, 2011 8:26 pm

Fascinating. I don't happen to have that map, so would you be able to PM me your version?
Actual UltraViolet
Image Image
Image
I stole your turnip. Now you must come and defend your honour. ~ Hank Green

Shutter

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by Shutter » Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:14 pm

waspe414 wrote:Fascinating. I don't happen to have that map, so would you be able to PM me your version?
Pretty sure it's in major's?

User avatar
Honey Badger
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1843
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Anything that gets off the ground
Location: From Louisiana, stationed in Alabama
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by Honey Badger » Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:35 pm

Yes it is. Don't get the ground obj's, though.
USAF Computer Systems Programmer (3D0X4)
"Powerpoint Ranger"

User avatar
NavyGator
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:34 am
Favorite Aircraft: Prop-Driven civil
Location: near Airport HXD
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by NavyGator » Mon Sep 19, 2011 4:15 am

Yes, I'm pretty sure I'm the one that put something in the wrong place,
but dang if I know what it is that needs to be un-done in order to fix it.
I'm wondering if I somehow changed a file's extension or have it in a
wrong directory, or something else equally as stupid.
I did a work-around on the VietNam map by editing a Phantom's .dat so it
generates a couple thousand feet or so in elevation at 0.35 Mach in order
to keep it from breaking-up on a mountain-side.
Image

User avatar
Phoenix
Legend
Legend
Posts: 3153
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:54 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Sr-71
Location: On that golden road to Samarkand.
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by Phoenix » Fri Sep 23, 2011 8:58 am

Probably been asked before, but you using linux my friend?

User avatar
NavyGator
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:34 am
Favorite Aircraft: Prop-Driven civil
Location: near Airport HXD
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by NavyGator » Sun Sep 25, 2011 2:20 am

Negative, Basic PC.
Image

User avatar
decaff_42
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3426
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 546 times
Been thanked: 1203 times
Contact:

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by decaff_42 » Sat Oct 29, 2011 9:11 pm

Wouldn't deleting the offending line in the .lst make it so that plane wouldn't load? I've encountered many a similar error with a variety of packs, including Kuro's pack. Even though a few of the planes would load and I could copy them, others like the C-17 for example wouldn't load and I couldn't copy them from the pack to allow their use.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Feel free to ask me a question! I'll try to answer it as well as I can or recommend a more knowledgeable member if necessary.

User avatar
NavyGator
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:34 am
Favorite Aircraft: Prop-Driven civil
Location: near Airport HXD
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: How To Fix Start-Up/List File Errors

Post by NavyGator » Sun Oct 30, 2011 10:37 am

decaff_42 wrote:Wouldn't deleting the offending line in the .lst make it so that plane wouldn't load? I've encountered many a similar error with a variety of packs, including Kuro's pack. Even though a few of the planes would load and I could copy them, others like the C-17 for example wouldn't load and I couldn't copy them from the pack to allow their use.
To which post are you referring good-sir?
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest