Page 1 of 1

HUD modification

Posted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 11:08 pm
by aolivier747
Hello,
I have searched everywhere online but I couldn't find an answer. So here I am...

I play YsFlight offline for fun and recently started editing .DAT files (among others) to spice things up a little. Then, I wondered if it was possible to modify the appearance of the HUD.

Is it possible to, say, make it so the HUD contains only a crosshair? If yes, how?

In other words, where is the file for the HUD?

Re: HUD modification

Posted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 11:47 pm
by decaff_42
So there is the Simple and Complex HUD options in YSFlight, that you can toggle between when activated. Conversely you have Instrument Panels with steam-gauge style instruments.If you wanted to go no HUD, you would likely have to do some combination of instrument panels and turning the HUD OFF.

As for modifying the HUD, you only have the two options. To my knowledge there is no way to edit what is seen (aside from TAS or CAS) in the HUD

Re: HUD modification

Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 7:20 am
by Flake
Another option you might consider, is have a static crosshair on the aircraft itself as part of the aircraft model.

My own Black Dragon F/A-18's have a blank cockpit model file, and a blank instrument panel (.ISP?) file referenced in the DAT file, and "use instrument panel" set to TRUE. This way, when you start flight, you're greeted with an empty cockpit without any instruments or hud. To turn the hud on, you just set the ingame option "always show hud" to true using the CTRL key menu. You could do a similar thing, but just have the crosshair as part of the model file if that's what you are after. Some things on the hud you could even animate - I have an animation panel for the burners, stabs and slats etc. on the aforementioned model in the cockpit.

In short - the hud is hard coded in the game, but you can be creative and partially build your own.

Re: HUD modification

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 6:40 pm
by aolivier747
Thank you!
I used an .ist file to create a custom crosshair. I "smushed" two rectangular instruments so that they look like lines. Problem solved!

Re: HUD modification

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:06 pm
by decaff_42
Interesting solution for the cross-hairs. Would you mind posting the .ist file here? :D

Re: HUD modification

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 3:18 am
by Flake
IQ 200 response to the problem right there, never even considered doing that.

Care to share a screenshot of that? I'm quite curious now.

Re: HUD modification

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:41 pm
by aolivier747
I used fuel and flap in this case. It only works with rectangular instruments. The position can be changed by changing the coordinates (x1, y1, x2, y2)
Capture d’écran 2019-02-21 à 15.36.24.png
Capture d’écran 2019-02-21 à 15.36.24.png (12.97 KiB) Viewed 1117 times
Capture d’écran 2019-02-21 à 15.36.46.png
Capture d’écran 2019-02-21 à 15.36.46.png (18.63 KiB) Viewed 1117 times
Also, sorry for the late response, I was busy doing other things

Re: HUD modification

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2019 4:54 am
by ysmajor
If you add a 'turret' you get a crosshairs too.

AND, check out the crosshairs on my P-40B. If you click F1 you go to the ex-camera position lined up with the crosshairs. Click 'reserve thrust' button when firing to see the muzzle flash for extra kick.