Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Questions, comments, concerns, & fixes
Post Reply
User avatar
megaprime13
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:00 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737
Location: Lead. You should stay on my wing.
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Post by megaprime13 » Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:13 pm

As the title would assume, I would like to fly some airplanes without having to hold down (in this case) the mouse button to keep my smoke going.

If i am putting an aircraft on autopilot for some time, the server might autokick me for inactiveness. It would be really convenient to set the smoke up to run while i go and do laundry or what have you, so i dont get kicked 40nm away from the destination airport of a 400nm trip.
Copperhead: "I could care less about politics anyways"
Sentinel182 wrote: at the moment im this many years
*middle finger*

User avatar
VNAF ONE
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 2148
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 2:16 am
Favorite Aircraft: A-10C Thunderbolt II
Location: Indiana/Florida
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 230 times
Been thanked: 405 times

Re: Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Post by VNAF ONE » Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:17 pm

Y'know, honestly I haven't thought about this in a while. I think there used to be a button but I think you also had to hold it down (S? I don't use default keys anymore). It would be nice for aerobatic purposes though...and if there is and I'm not using it, I'm gonna feel like the biggest dummy...so hit me with whatcha got, I deserve it.
VNAF Aerobatics Commanding Officer and Founder - - - YSAS Member - - - YS Aerobatic Pilot
YS ACC A-10 East Coast Demo Team pilot - - - B-1B Razor Demo Team pilot
VFA-49 GhostHawks Commanding Officer
Image

User avatar
plunderbird
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:05 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F5 A10 SR71
Location: Wellingborough England
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 39 times
Contact:

Re: Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Post by plunderbird » Fri Oct 02, 2015 7:40 pm

megaprime13 wrote:As the title would assume, I would like to fly some airplanes without having to hold down (in this case) the mouse button to keep my smoke going.

If i am putting an aircraft on autopilot for some time, the server might autokick me for inactiveness. It would be really convenient to set the smoke up to run while i go and do laundry or what have you, so i dont get kicked 40nm away from the destination airport of a 400nm trip.
Pity you don't have a joystick with autofire. Then you could just start to make smoke, then turn on the autofire. It would continue to make smoke, while you were away. :geek:
Fliped out of the arena, again! :(

User avatar
Lor599
Modding Team
Modding Team
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 3:39 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing 787
Location: Eastern U.S.A
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Post by Lor599 » Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:19 pm

Do you have a joystick? Zip-tie down your trigger :lol:

User avatar
megaprime13
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:00 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737
Location: Lead. You should stay on my wing.
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Post by megaprime13 » Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:32 pm

I do have a joystick, but im not bothered enough to clean my desk so i can use it. I somehow glitched the game into keeping the smoke on when i went for a flight but i couldnt replicate it.
Copperhead: "I could care less about politics anyways"
Sentinel182 wrote: at the moment im this many years
*middle finger*

User avatar
Gunny
Business Class Membership
Business Class Membership
Posts: 3224
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Any thing with a prop.
Location: New Iberia.LA.
OS: Windows XP SP3
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 733 times

Re: Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Post by Gunny » Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:34 pm

One of the drawbacks of flying with a mouse.Assign a key to it in joystick mouse options.
Image[/align=centre]

User avatar
megaprime13
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:00 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737
Location: Lead. You should stay on my wing.
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Post by megaprime13 » Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:42 pm

Gunny wrote:One of the drawbacks of flying with a mouse.Assign a key to it in joystick mouse options.
Assign smoke? i have, if thats what you're saying. It's just that i want to have it auto fire.
Copperhead: "I could care less about politics anyways"
Sentinel182 wrote: at the moment im this many years
*middle finger*

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3887
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win 10
Has thanked: 1664 times
Been thanked: 1764 times
Contact:

Re: Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Post by Neocon » Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:01 pm

If you hold down the smoke key and press F10, you enter follow mode and the smoke keeps going. It also works for the guns.

User avatar
megaprime13
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 289
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:00 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737
Location: Lead. You should stay on my wing.
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Post by megaprime13 » Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:39 pm

Patrick31337 wrote:If you hold down the smoke key and press F10, you enter follow mode and the smoke keeps going. It also works for the guns.
Well what do ya know, it worked!

Thanks Pat! :mrgreen:
Copperhead: "I could care less about politics anyways"
Sentinel182 wrote: at the moment im this many years
*middle finger*

User avatar
Turbofan
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1962
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 4:22 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing 747, all variants
Location: Southern Plains
Has thanked: 1051 times
Been thanked: 745 times
Contact:

Re: Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Post by Turbofan » Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:49 pm

Patrick31337 wrote:If you hold down the smoke key and press F10, you enter follow mode and the smoke keeps going. It also works for the guns.
That's also how I keep the flaps/slats retracted on TF 58's 747-400s when I don't want to keep the retract key pressed down ("R" on my computer).
Hi! I make average, undesirable, boring grey maps for YS Flight!

Check out my YSFS videos on my Youtube channel!
-----------------------
Avatar: Pratt and Whitney JT8D-219
-----------------------
Turbofan's Terminal updated! New information on home page and WIP for 2020! Check it out!

User avatar
Dragon_Mech
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 571
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 12:18 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-14, F-15D&E, SR-71, King Air 200, B737
Location: Mansfield, Mo. USA
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 127 times

Re: Keeping smoke on without having to hold down the trigger

Post by Dragon_Mech » Sat Oct 03, 2015 4:18 am

Patrick31337 wrote:If you hold down the smoke key and press F10, you enter follow mode and the smoke keeps going. It also works for the guns.
:o :o :o :shock: :shock: :shock:
thanks for the knowledge bomb Patrick. it really blew my mind. (i know it's a bad joke. but meh)
Owner, Dragonic Machine Industries
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests