Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Questions, comments, concerns, & fixes
User avatar
Skipper
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Spitfire
Location: South Wales, UK
OS: Windows 7
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Skipper » Sun Aug 28, 2016 4:15 pm

Nodoka Hanamura wrote:
I remember AAAAAGES Ago, when I tried my hand at making a Japan Map (Think 2012, 2011), I had this same problem. I never found a solution.
The shapefile or the elevation grid?

RE Shapefile:
ConvexyWhateverItsCalled/Triangulation worked quite well, just took a while.

RE Elevation Grid
I guess the only real solution would be to divide the elevation grid up into smaller segments, say 300x300px, and then stitch it back together in Scenery Editor, but it'd still make a big map file (and it'd be a lot of work).

A nice script that'd convert a DEM to a .ter would be nice... Like Grigor's Elevation Grid Generator, but capable of converting GeoTiff Digital Elevation Models, or even .ASC files to .ters with the correct elevation...Would be even better if it did that, then split it into smaller grids, and combined them into a child scenery....
Image
Skipper's Mod Pack: www.skipper-iwb.co.uk (On YS Mod Site)

User avatar
Nodoka Hanamura
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:01 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Su-24, Mig-29, Su-27, F-18, F-15, ADF-01, Icon A5
Has thanked: 512 times
Been thanked: 261 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Nodoka Hanamura » Sun Aug 28, 2016 4:28 pm

Skipper wrote:
Nodoka Hanamura wrote:
I remember AAAAAGES Ago, when I tried my hand at making a Japan Map (Think 2012, 2011), I had this same problem. I never found a solution.
The shapefile or the elevation grid?

RE Shapefile:
ConvexyWhateverItsCalled/Triangulation worked quite well, just took a while.

RE Elevation Grid
I guess the only real solution would be to divide the elevation grid up into smaller segments, say 300x300px, and then stitch it back together in Scenery Editor, but it'd still make a big map file (and it'd be a lot of work).

A nice script that'd convert a DEM to a .ter would be nice... Like Grigor's Elevation Grid Generator, but capable of converting GeoTiff Digital Elevation Models, or even .ASC files to .ters with the correct elevation...Would be even better if it did that, then split it into smaller grids, and combined them into a child scenery....
The Shapefile I believe, it was a outline just like you showed.
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
Image
Yes, GrunSol is still around, Yes, I'm Still alive. Any other Questions?

User avatar
Turbofan
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1740
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 4:22 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing 747, all variants
Location: Central OK
Has thanked: 864 times
Been thanked: 589 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Turbofan » Sun Aug 28, 2016 4:40 pm

Just as a pointer, most of the questions being asked here have already been answered in the "Help" menu in Scenery Editor. Not saying you can't ask those questions here but I have found it to be quite helpful when making maps.

Anyway, if it hasn't been answered already, essentially what protect polygons do is make the selected polygons perfectly horizontal. Then you can not only import and raise airports to the level of the protect polygons by the method Soji has suggested, you can also create and raise text to that particular level (that's how I did the "ABEL JETS" on the flight ops center in Mandiola and the "ABEL JETS [H]Q" on the HQ building).

The only downside to that is since those polygons become transparent, you are able to see through them and if there is any map element that is in the line-of-sight (roads, buildings, polygons, etc), it will be visible through those polygons. This happens in OGL and OGL2 as far as I know. I am going to do an experiment in my next map where I put a "dummy" elevation grid which does not have any transparent polygons adjacent to the EG that has the protect polygons (so it acts like a "barrier" that prevents the "see-through" effect), and see if that works. Yeah, that only adds to the work the computer has to do but we'll see how it works I guess.
Check out my YSFS videos on my Youtube channel!
-----------------------
ATRP: When used in my posts refers to "Air Traffic Replay Project"
-----------------------
Avatar: Pratt and Whitney JT8D-219
-----------------------
My general rant: I will call them blended winglets, not Sharklets; There is no CEO, it's just simply put, an Airbus 319/320/321, or the 320NEO, 321NEO etc. I didn't land IN DAL, I landed AT DAL. On the other hand, I did land in Dallas.
-----------------------
New website update as of July 3, 2018: New map modification policy under "Map Information" and updates to the GRID and WIP!
Turbofan's Terminal

User avatar
Skipper
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Spitfire
Location: South Wales, UK
OS: Windows 7
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Skipper » Sun Aug 28, 2016 4:54 pm

Nodoka Hanamura wrote: The Shapefile I believe, it was a outline just like you showed.
Yea, doing the convex...whatever thing seems to solve it. I think it's because there is invalid geometry (one of the lines bisects another, or more than one perhaps). The convexy thing triangulates all the polygons, so you can identify exactly which one is invalid as it is the one that is still just an outline.
Only downside, if you've got a polygon with 2000 vertexes, it takes a little while...
Image
Skipper's Mod Pack: www.skipper-iwb.co.uk (On YS Mod Site)

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 199 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Barr » Sun Aug 28, 2016 5:02 pm

Skipper wrote:
Nodoka Hanamura wrote:
I remember AAAAAGES Ago, when I tried my hand at making a Japan Map (Think 2012, 2011), I had this same problem. I never found a solution.
The shapefile or the elevation grid?

RE Shapefile:
ConvexyWhateverItsCalled/Triangulation worked quite well, just took a while.

RE Elevation Grid
I guess the only real solution would be to divide the elevation grid up into smaller segments, say 300x300px, and then stitch it back together in Scenery Editor, but it'd still make a big map file (and it'd be a lot of work).

A nice script that'd convert a DEM to a .ter would be nice... Like Grigor's Elevation Grid Generator, but capable of converting GeoTiff Digital Elevation Models, or even .ASC files to .ters with the correct elevation...Would be even better if it did that, then split it into smaller grids, and combined them into a child scenery....

Dont dem files have all that info in text within the file?
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

User avatar
Nodoka Hanamura
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 921
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:01 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Su-24, Mig-29, Su-27, F-18, F-15, ADF-01, Icon A5
Has thanked: 512 times
Been thanked: 261 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Nodoka Hanamura » Sun Aug 28, 2016 5:07 pm

Skipper wrote:
Nodoka Hanamura wrote: The Shapefile I believe, it was a outline just like you showed.
Yea, doing the convex...whatever thing seems to solve it. I think it's because there is invalid geometry (one of the lines bisects another, or more than one perhaps). The convexy thing triangulates all the polygons, so you can identify exactly which one is invalid as it is the one that is still just an outline.
Only downside, if you've got a polygon with 2000 vertexes, it takes a little while...
IIRC, that map was hella detailed, so yeah, that old Toshiba laptop would have caught fire trying to do that :lol:
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
Image
Yes, GrunSol is still around, Yes, I'm Still alive. Any other Questions?

User avatar
Skipper
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Spitfire
Location: South Wales, UK
OS: Windows 7
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Skipper » Sun Aug 28, 2016 5:08 pm

Yea, the elevation is stored as the pixel value.
Image
Skipper's Mod Pack: www.skipper-iwb.co.uk (On YS Mod Site)

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 199 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Barr » Sun Aug 28, 2016 5:53 pm

Skipper wrote:Yea, the elevation is stored as the pixel value.
No I mean those crazy dem files that work with geo tiff, qgis arcgis etc.
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

User avatar
Skipper
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Spitfire
Location: South Wales, UK
OS: Windows 7
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Skipper » Sun Aug 28, 2016 6:00 pm

Yup, they're just bitmap images, but the pixel value is the elevation. So they're greyscale, and instead of it just being 0-255, it goes..well, whatever elevation you want
Image
Skipper's Mod Pack: www.skipper-iwb.co.uk (On YS Mod Site)

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 199 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Barr » Sun Aug 28, 2016 8:31 pm

Skipper wrote:Yup, they're just bitmap images, but the pixel value is the elevation. So they're greyscale, and instead of it just being 0-255, it goes..well, whatever elevation you want
:?: I'm not talking about the elevation grid program. I'm talking about the raw files you get from his websites like here where you'll need a gis program to view or edit.?
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

User avatar
Skipper
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Spitfire
Location: South Wales, UK
OS: Windows 7
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Skipper » Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:03 pm

I know what you're talking about :)
Geotiffs are just .tif files, so a regular bitmap image. They also have some extra attributes that tell GIS software where that image is located, but essentially they're normal bitmaps. You can edit them in Photoshop or even paint. Only difference really is that the pixel value is not 0-255, but the elevation (though of the elevation is outside of the 0-255 it will break your geotiff if you edit it in Photoshop or paint).
.asc files are the ASCII version, and have a lot of similarities to a .ter file
Image
Skipper's Mod Pack: www.skipper-iwb.co.uk (On YS Mod Site)

User avatar
MrFunnybone
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 376
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 11:22 pm
Favorite Aircraft: UFO
Location: Northern California
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 84 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by MrFunnybone » Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:18 pm

Image

Does anyone know wth is going on here with my blender? This is what happens when i try to box select and do a bunch of other clicking/dragging related stuff I hadnt touched blender for a while and one day I decided to work on something and this happened. I tried restarting but I think it might be some kind of graphics glitch thats only happening in blender

User avatar
Skipper
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Spitfire
Location: South Wales, UK
OS: Windows 7
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Skipper » Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:32 pm

Mine did that today!
Image
Skipper's Mod Pack: www.skipper-iwb.co.uk (On YS Mod Site)

User avatar
MrFunnybone
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 376
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 11:22 pm
Favorite Aircraft: UFO
Location: Northern California
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 84 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by MrFunnybone » Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:35 pm

Do you have NVIDIA? the new blender doesnt have the glitch...

User avatar
Skipper
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Spitfire
Location: South Wales, UK
OS: Windows 7
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Skipper » Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:44 pm

Yea. Do the YS scripts work with it?
Image
Skipper's Mod Pack: www.skipper-iwb.co.uk (On YS Mod Site)

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 199 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Barr » Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:50 pm

Skipper wrote:I know what you're talking about :)
Geotiffs are just .tif files, so a regular bitmap image. They also have some extra attributes that tell GIS software where that image is located, but essentially they're normal bitmaps. You can edit them in Photoshop or even paint. Only difference really is that the pixel value is not 0-255, but the elevation (though of the elevation is outside of the 0-255 it will break your geotiff if you edit it in Photoshop or paint).
.asc files are the ASCII version, and have a lot of similarities to a .ter file

Ahh I see. Well that's weird. When I first read your blog a while back I tried opening different types of gis files with image editors. .tif files were recognized by gimp but always gave an image error.

I do remember you talking about ascii files I think .shp also come in ASCII format? I think I opened one in note pad and just copied the numerical values like you did never got anything but that's only because I'm an idiot
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

User avatar
Skipper
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Spitfire
Location: South Wales, UK
OS: Windows 7
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Skipper » Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:11 am

No, there are 2 types of GIS file, Raster and Vector. Our modding in YS is vector based, points, lines and polygons.
Rasters are bitmap images, so a continuous grid of data, as opposed to discreet points of data.
Shapefile (.shp) are vector files, most similar to a .fld (flat, vector), except you can't read the file contents with notepad (they're stored in a .dbf file, rather in the shapefile itself)
There are different GIS vector formats, as each software company has its own...KML is googles, SHP is ESRI's, but SHP has become quite a standard one for GIS data.

GeoTiffs and ASC files (short for ASCII grid file I think) are rasters, so bitmap images. They show continuous data like elevation, rainfall, chemical levels, tree cover, aerial imagery, whatever you've got as continuous data... In this case, they're most simar to .ter files (elevation grid) as they too are a continuous grid. ASC files are most similar as the data is readable in notepad.

You probably struggled to open the geotiff in image software because the max/min values were over 0-255 range.
Software you want is QGIS (QGIS.org). Free GIS software that'll convert GeoTiffs (and shapefiles) to a useable, notepad readable, format (asc for rasters, and the best one I've found for vector files is CSV... I'm sure there are others though. Kml might even work.
Image
Skipper's Mod Pack: www.skipper-iwb.co.uk (On YS Mod Site)

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 199 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Barr » Sun Sep 04, 2016 5:34 pm

BARRACUZ wrote:How do you make a "halfed" mesh a full one?

Tryin to paint this but it seems like it was mirrored? so theres only a mesh on one side of the tail?
Bump.
Attachments
Screenshot (140).png
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

User avatar
NightRaven
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:00 am
Favorite Aircraft: soviet and (nazi) german aircraft
Location: singapore
OS: windoze 10 64-bit
Has thanked: 521 times
Been thanked: 603 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by NightRaven » Mon Sep 05, 2016 2:11 am

Tab out of Edit Mode. The other side of the rudder is a separate object altogether, so you need to select the left rudder rather than the right rudder in order to paint it.
Image

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1003
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 268 times
Been thanked: 199 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Barr » Thu Sep 08, 2016 1:58 am

NightRaven wrote:Tab out of Edit Mode. The other side of the rudder is a separate object altogether, so you need to select the left rudder rather than the right rudder in order to paint it.
Gracias mi rey!
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests