Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Questions, comments, concerns, & fixes
User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1006
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 272 times
Been thanked: 201 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Barr » Wed Sep 28, 2016 2:47 am

ok so I exported a model in .srfs and reimported. Everything is well, just had to repsotion a couple of doors. But I noticed that in the object names and in the outliner all the parts are listed with a generic mesh name and a number suffix.

Shouldnt it be, for example, "wings.srf" instead of "C:\Users\Barracuz.038"? Shouldnt the srf export and import process automatically changes the names or is this something I have to do manually?
Attachments
Screenshot (170).png
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

NightRaven
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1843
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:00 am
Favorite Aircraft: .
OS: windoze 10 64-bit
Has thanked: 530 times
Been thanked: 607 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by NightRaven » Wed Sep 28, 2016 4:32 am

The object names are not preserved when exporting to srf. Importing srf only gives a truncated filepath. So yeah, basically you will have to rename everything manually.

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win Vista
Has thanked: 1544 times
Been thanked: 1664 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Neocon » Wed Sep 28, 2016 4:34 am

It's no wonder, then, that I have to rename most of the .srf files in the .dnm when I am working on a model made or edited in Blender. :lol:

User avatar
u2fly
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1198
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:27 am
Favorite Aircraft: Antonov An-225 Mriya
Location: Ukraine
OS: Linux
Has thanked: 676 times
Been thanked: 269 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by u2fly » Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:47 am

NightRaven wrote:The object names are not preserved when exporting to srf. Importing srf only gives a truncated filepath. So yeah, basically you will have to rename everything manually.
Currently I'm working on updating old YSFS scripts for Blender2.49, so, think its could be fixed (I hope to do that).
Also I try fix scripts naming, for better interaction. Soon I will post them in toolbox discussion.
/!\ READ YSFLIGHT HANDBOOK (.PDF) | updated 2017/05/03

U.S. Senator John McCain wrote:
“Spending #NewYearsEve w/ brave #Ukrainian Marines at a forward combat outpost - we stand w/ them in their fight against #Putin's aggression”
http://pic.twitter.com/vkz0gdozVV
(31 DEC 2016)

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1006
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 272 times
Been thanked: 201 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Barr » Wed Sep 28, 2016 12:29 pm

NightRaven wrote:The object names are not preserved when exporting to srf. Importing srf only gives a truncated filepath. So yeah, basically you will have to rename everything manually.
u2fly wrote:
NightRaven wrote:The object names are not preserved when exporting to srf. Importing srf only gives a truncated filepath. So yeah, basically you will have to rename everything manually.
Currently I'm working on updating old YSFS scripts for Blender2.49, so, think its could be fixed (I hope to do that).
Also I try fix scripts naming, for better interaction. Soon I will post them in toolbox discussion.
Thank you and can't wait!
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

User avatar
Flake
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 4271
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 816 times
Been thanked: 1162 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Flake » Fri Sep 30, 2016 1:25 am

Blender for modelling, DNMViewer and notepad for dnm editing. That's my advice.

User avatar
u2fly
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1198
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:27 am
Favorite Aircraft: Antonov An-225 Mriya
Location: Ukraine
OS: Linux
Has thanked: 676 times
Been thanked: 269 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by u2fly » Sat Oct 01, 2016 11:04 pm

How make aircraft with propeller rotated with 1 revolution per 1 second on start (when thrust is 0%) ???

And how do that for:
a) 1 revolution per 10 seconds
b) 1 revolution per 100 seconds
c) 1 revolution per 1000 seconds

P.S. Have idea about stopwatch for YSFlight ))
/!\ READ YSFLIGHT HANDBOOK (.PDF) | updated 2017/05/03

U.S. Senator John McCain wrote:
“Spending #NewYearsEve w/ brave #Ukrainian Marines at a forward combat outpost - we stand w/ them in their fight against #Putin's aggression”
http://pic.twitter.com/vkz0gdozVV
(31 DEC 2016)

User avatar
Flake
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 4271
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 816 times
Been thanked: 1162 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Flake » Sun Oct 02, 2016 6:11 am

one second maybe. Less than one second can sorta do. It gets harder as you go deeper. More than one second is way out. And so the number of seconds reasonably attainable is one and thus the number shall be one.

Also base 10 is never going to work without a lot of difficulty in timing rotations to convert from base 2 to base 10 (some sort of rotation gearing mechanism maybe) which just will not work.

Sorry to burst your bubble. I've tried all sorts of stuff like this with no success yet after I was inspired by the Asimo model and TF58's 747's strobe light.

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1006
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 272 times
Been thanked: 201 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Barr » Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:12 pm

Im trying to get an aileron lined up and im getting diffrent 0,0,0 points for the empty and aileron itself

Nevermind
I simply imported each aileron individually in order to rotate and align. I got a "true" 0,0,0 point where the part was centered. Already got the left aileron done now going for the right! :D
Attachments
Screenshot (195).png
Screenshot (194).png
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1006
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 272 times
Been thanked: 201 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Barr » Mon Oct 10, 2016 8:59 pm

So when repainting Najmis su30 ive noticed that his model, in solid view, is completely visible but many of the models I import are instead completely black? Anyone know why? Or how to make a black solid model visible? Kinda sucks when all you have to work with is the textured and wireframe, though not necessary having a visible solid model helps when working directly with the mesh.

Ive tried search and only came up with solutions regarding normals.
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

User avatar
decaff_42
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3426
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 546 times
Been thanked: 1203 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by decaff_42 » Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:02 pm

I believe the issue can be thought of as initialization of a mesh when imported into Blender. If you select an object and go into edit mode, then straight back out to object mode, Blender will recognize the mesh and display the solid view with the normals of the mesh.

Without that edit mode initialization, Blender doesn't "see" the normals and the mesh.

That's the best explanation I can type up. I don't claim to understand it, but I've worked with it for a while. :D
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Feel free to ask me a question! I'll try to answer it as well as I can or recommend a more knowledgeable member if necessary.

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1006
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 272 times
Been thanked: 201 times

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Barr » Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:53 pm

decaff_42 wrote:I believe the issue can be thought of as initialization of a mesh when imported into Blender. If you select an object and go into edit mode, then straight back out to object mode, Blender will recognize the mesh and display the solid view with the normals of the mesh.

Without that edit mode initialization, Blender doesn't "see" the normals and the mesh.

That's the best explanation I can type up. I don't claim to understand it, but I've worked with it for a while. :D
Image
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

User avatar
AdityaB
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 547
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 12:40 pm
Favorite Aircraft: All
Location: India
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 163 times
Been thanked: 144 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by AdityaB » Wed Dec 28, 2016 3:24 pm

how do i make a ground object solid such that the aircraft sees it as an smoothened elevated surface that it can run on, and not as a general ground object that it can crash on??

Thank you :)
Please note that I do not mean any kind of offence in any of my posts
Get full list of
my releases at:
AdityaB's Facility
:) :) :)
*temporarily unavailable further details

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win Vista
Has thanked: 1544 times
Been thanked: 1664 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Neocon » Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:00 pm

There's a tutorial for that. 8-)

User avatar
u2fly
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1198
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:27 am
Favorite Aircraft: Antonov An-225 Mriya
Location: Ukraine
OS: Linux
Has thanked: 676 times
Been thanked: 269 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by u2fly » Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:06 pm

AdityaB wrote:how do i make a ground object solid such that the aircraft sees it as an smoothened elevated surface that it can run on, and not as a general ground object that it can crash on??

Thank you :)
Take a look on Patrick's manual on CARRIER ground object creating
>>> https://drive.google.com/file/d/0By9NlW ... p=drivesdk
Especially, for creating mesh model for it as "smoothed elevated surface" use files included in ACP-file:

Code: Select all

ground/carrier_deck.srf
ground/carrier_catapult.srf
Also, read my "YSFLIGHT HANDBOOK", that include this and many other info on addon creating.
/!\ READ YSFLIGHT HANDBOOK (.PDF) | updated 2017/05/03

U.S. Senator John McCain wrote:
“Spending #NewYearsEve w/ brave #Ukrainian Marines at a forward combat outpost - we stand w/ them in their fight against #Putin's aggression”
http://pic.twitter.com/vkz0gdozVV
(31 DEC 2016)

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win Vista
Has thanked: 1544 times
Been thanked: 1664 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Neocon » Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:31 pm

u2fly wrote:Also, read my "YSFLIGHT HANDBOOK", that include this and many other info on addon creating.
If you want to integrate my ground object tutorial into the handbook, I would be fine with that. There is a lot of overlap between the ground object and aircraft carrier tutorials, but there is more detail about ground objects in general in the ground object tutorial.

User avatar
dbd000
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 414
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:32 am
Favorite Aircraft: So long as it isn't fictional, I like it
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 341 times
Been thanked: 171 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by dbd000 » Wed Dec 28, 2016 10:44 pm

Maybe you should make the helipads on the buildings in LA solid @ Patrick31337.

The last time I tried landing on one I blew up.

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win Vista
Has thanked: 1544 times
Been thanked: 1664 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Neocon » Wed Dec 28, 2016 11:22 pm

The only building ground object I've made that you can land on is the Maze Bank/CitiBank Building in LA. I did make a building in San Francisco that is an elevation grid with a helipad ground object on top.

User avatar
dbd000
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 414
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:32 am
Favorite Aircraft: So long as it isn't fictional, I like it
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 341 times
Been thanked: 171 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by dbd000 » Wed Dec 28, 2016 11:35 pm

Well... I tried landing on the CitiBank building and I blew up. (See my previous post)

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win Vista
Has thanked: 1544 times
Been thanked: 1664 times
Contact:

Re: Random questions about anything NEAR and IN the realm of YSFlight

Post by Neocon » Thu Dec 29, 2016 2:42 am

If you need to make a null.srf, just enter this in Notepad and save as null.srf with the file type set to "All".
null.srf wrote:Surf
E
Or, you know, open gepoly and export/save the blank model as "null.srf" ;)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest