Autopilot mod

Questions, comments, concerns, & fixes
Post Reply
User avatar
Random_Flyer66
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: 737-800
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 14 times

Autopilot mod

Post by Random_Flyer66 » Sun Aug 28, 2016 1:18 pm

Question: Is there any autopilot improvement mod where you can set like the speed, altitude and heading of your plane?
I can Photoshop stuff

User avatar
Nodoka Hanamura
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:01 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Su-24, Mig-29, Su-27, F-18, F-15, ADF-01, Icon A5
Has thanked: 513 times
Been thanked: 266 times

Re: Autopilot mod

Post by Nodoka Hanamura » Sun Aug 28, 2016 1:24 pm

No, there isn't.

That and it's not allowed.

YSFlight's source code is closed source, and modifications, reverse enginnering and the sort (even discussing it at length) is forbidden here, out of respect for Dr. Yamakawa.

The closest thing we have for that is the Heading bug.
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
Image

User avatar
Skipper
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Spitfire
Location: South Wales, UK
OS: Windows 7
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 24 times
Contact:

Re: Autopilot mod

Post by Skipper » Sun Aug 28, 2016 1:27 pm

^^ What He or She said. ^^


Speed and altitude are set by you when you engage autopilot - so it'll do it's best to try and stay at that speed and height until it flies into a mountain or runs out of fuel.
Heading, yes. The new version has the "heading bug" - so you can set a heading using the compass.
So you set that using the L key - VOR menu. Press again to cycle through VOR1, VOR2, ADF and "Heading Bug". Then you can use 7 and 8 to rotate the heading bug to your desired bearing.
Now, when you switch to "heading bug" mode in the autopilot, it'll try and stay on that bearing - and turn to it if you're not facing that way to begin with.
Image
Skipper's Mod Pack: www.skipper-iwb.co.uk (On YS Mod Site)

User avatar
Barr
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1011
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:49 pm
Favorite Aircraft: The Boeing 757
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
OS: Windows 10/Gentoo
Has thanked: 272 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: Autopilot mod

Post by Barr » Sun Aug 28, 2016 1:43 pm

Well you cant really precisely set Altitude, speed or heading. As skip said youll have to manuall get the plane to the desired altitude and speed and engage the straight and level autopilot. And youll also have the heading bug which is like the straigh and level mode but with heading control. But make sure to set it before engaging it.
Image
Beginner ATC for hire!
Current Projects:
-Pilatus PC12
-Mooney M20
-New England Scenery
Fine Print:
**Word of Caution**
My knowledge is limited. Anything I write in my posts may or may not be accurate. To be honest I think its all crap.

User avatar
Random_Flyer66
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: 737-800
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Autopilot mod

Post by Random_Flyer66 » Sun Aug 28, 2016 2:18 pm

Thanks for the information guys
I can Photoshop stuff

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest