Scenery Editor normals bug

Questions, comments, concerns, & fixes
Post Reply
User avatar
Strava
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: Piper Cub
Location: Ohio
OS: Windows 7 HP
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Scenery Editor normals bug

Post by Strava » Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:31 am

Just wondering if anyone else has seen this.
Anytime I do anything with a ground object the normals on all the polys get flipped.
In the first pic I have just opened small.fld. Looks good.
In the second pic I have selected insert ground object.
Note the only polys you see are the back side of the elevation grids.
Unless you look at the map from the bottom!!

Image

Image

Thomascook221
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 7:28 am
Favorite Aircraft: United Nations Airplane Livery,A380,B777,B737.
Location: Indonesia,Bekasi
OS: Windows 7 Pro
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Scenery Editor normals bug

Post by Thomascook221 » Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:51 pm

Same problem appear in my scenery editor too , anyone know how to fix this ?

Thank you
YS FLIGHT INDONESIA Member(YSFID)
Abel Jets Group Website AJVA (Abel Jets VA) :)

Moa Website (MOA Airways) :D

Check Out my Website.. YSFlight Thomas

Join and Fly Abel Jets & Moa Airways Now..

Fly Virtual Airline for the World.. ;)
Thank you All......... :)
Regards

User avatar
David
Modding Team
Modding Team
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 12:03 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Grob G109B Vigilant
Location: United Kingdom
Has thanked: 184 times
Been thanked: 129 times

Re: Scenery Editor normals bug

Post by David » Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:18 pm

Strava, Thomascook221.

I had this same problem.
It no longer happened when I downloaded and used stable version 20090426.

Najmicreative uploaded it on the forum here viewtopic.php?f=137&t=9432

Hope this helps.

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3629
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win Vista
Has thanked: 1455 times
Been thanked: 1584 times
Contact:

Re: Scenery Editor normals bug

Post by Neocon » Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:18 pm

I mostly use the 2009 stable version of scenery editor, and I've never seen this problem in that version.

User avatar
Strava
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: Piper Cub
Location: Ohio
OS: Windows 7 HP
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Scenery Editor normals bug

Post by Strava » Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:43 am

Sorry, I forgot to say that I am running the 20090426 version.
Downloaded it from Najmicreative's post about 2 months ago.
I did not have this problem until after I figured out how to set the folder option so that it found the ground objects.
I made a fresh install of YSFlight and set scene edit to look there.
Still get the problem.

User avatar
Gunny
Business Class Membership
Business Class Membership
Posts: 3157
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Any thing with a prop.
Location: New Iberia.LA.
OS: Windows XP SP3
Has thanked: 526 times
Been thanked: 672 times

Re: Scenery Editor normals bug

Post by Gunny » Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:21 am

I also experience the problem.But I did find a workaround but not a cure.Also, the second you put a ground object in the scenery your reference will also disappear viewable only from a bottom view.Ok, the workaround, first after you have inserted a ground object and the scenery goes transparent, turn off the ground object view and the rectangular regions with the view dialog.Sometimes that will be enough to restore the full scenery, if not go to import elevation grid and import the grid, any grid, and import it.Now the grid will only be temporary long enough to restore the full scenery to the screen you can delete it after.Keep in mind that you will have to do this after importing a ground object.Personally, I do not enter any ground object until all of my scenery is complete.Also, try to get as many ground objects done in one session as you can, since once you have saved the scenery and exit the program some ground object may not reappear for editing.They will still be there but the visuals will not, the coordinates and tags will show though.The visuals will show in the game, however.I hope this will help in some way.I also hope my explanations have been clear enough to be of use.
Image[/align=centre]

User avatar
Strava
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: Piper Cub
Location: Ohio
OS: Windows 7 HP
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Scenery Editor normals bug

Post by Strava » Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:22 pm

Thanks Gunny. That is exactly what I was looking for. A workaround that does not require closing and restarting the editor.
You don't need to turn off rectangular regions.
Turning off ground objects is enough.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest