Raven's dogfighting manual

Midnight Rambler
Staff
Staff
Favorite Aircraft: F-16

Raven's dogfighting manual

Post by Midnight Rambler »

I started playing YsFlight in the early stages of the game, around 00' or so. The game has changed very little from then to now. I still use the same techniques, and manoeuvres I pioneered "Back in the Day". I'm writing this manual in hopes of giving every player the chance to experience what I have experienced. It's my way of giving back to the YsFlight/YsPilots community.

Before we start, there is a few things all pilots should know. There is no magic, there is no cheating. Ys is a very basic flight simulator, which is shown in the basic flight dynamics, and physics it puts forth. With that said, most flight simulators I have played you could take real life ACM/BFM and implement them into the simulator. YsFlight is different, there is only a handful of stuff you can use, thus I'm going to briefly introduce these techniques.

There are a Few fundamentals that take play in YsFlight. Lets get to it.
--

First turn merge:

Two jets with 35% fuel, guns only loadout take opposing aerial start positions in the sky. They hit fly and start off for each other. The second your jets pass is called the merge, and the turn immediately following is the "merge turn". It is absolutely imperative that you make your first turn clean and tight. Making your turn radius as tight as you can. Don't get turn rate and turn radius mixed up. Radius is simple the size of the "circle" you form in the sky. Radius is the rate at which your nose turns in a turn. In Ys, a jet with 5% fuel is going to have a extremely high turn radius compared to a jet with 35% fuel. Example Turn Radius:

And a example of one and two circle merge turns:

In Plane/ Out of Plane: