Do I HAVE to use Blender to model/paint aircraft?

Topics about .dat, .srf, .dnm, .ist, Blender, Gepoly, etc.
Post Reply
Bear
Rookie
Rookie
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2021 6:03 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Bell 412, AW139
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Do I HAVE to use Blender to model/paint aircraft?

Post by Bear » Sun Jan 09, 2022 2:11 am

Self-explanatory. Is Blender the only option or are there other tools?
Hover lover.

User avatar
Gordo
2nd United Combat Wing
2nd United Combat Wing
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 7:27 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F/A-18F Super Hornet
Location: Ogden Utah
OS: Windows
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Do I HAVE to use Blender to model/paint aircraft?

Post by Gordo » Sun Jan 09, 2022 3:57 am

Nope! There are plugins for other applications aswell, im not sure of the specifics, but they're out there.
Image

Co-Founder, Organizer, Co-Host @ VCAP 2021-Present
2nd United Combat Wing "Deathcap"
Why Are You reading this? Im Just Gordo...

User avatar
Neocon
First Class Membership
First Class Membership
Posts: 3947
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 5:01 am
Favorite Aircraft: Baron 58
Location: Tennessee
OS: Win 10
Has thanked: 1744 times
Been thanked: 1802 times
Contact:

Re: Do I HAVE to use Blender to model/paint aircraft?

Post by Neocon » Sun Jan 09, 2022 4:24 am

I've painted models and made new models and have never used Blender except for a couple of times when I exported models. I have always used the Legacy tools, along with Windows Notepad. These are all tools that are over a decade old at the newest, and they run fine on a core2duo with integrated graphics and 5 GB of DDR2 RAM, which Blender does not do so well. :lol:

I have some tutorial videos in this playlist about how to use those programs.

User avatar
waspe414
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1492
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Kiowa, Mitten, Hornet
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 473 times
Contact:

Re: Do I HAVE to use Blender to model/paint aircraft?

Post by waspe414 » Mon Jan 10, 2022 3:32 am

You can also model in Sketchup and import to Blender, which is what I do. In theory you can repaint in Sketchup too, but the conversion, import, export, conversion stages just make it not worthwhile
Actual UltraViolet
Image Image
Image
I stole your turnip. Now you must come and defend your honour. ~ Hank Green

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests