Opening planes in blender

YSFlight addon development, questions, tutorials, & more!
Post Reply
User avatar
Crazypilot
Honorary Contributor
Honorary Contributor
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:22 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C
Location: Pakistan
Has thanked: 191 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Opening planes in blender

Post by Crazypilot » Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:51 pm

I have downloaded the scripts for opening/exporting dnm files(The planes you fly for all you birdbrains out there.)
I have blender 2.5 and when I click on import there is no dnm and I am not sure I have even put the scripts in the right place.Where do I put the files for the script to work and does it even work on Blender 2.5? for repainting planes.
Boneless Pizza

red baron
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:08 pm
Favorite Aircraft: P-51 Mustang
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Opening planes in blender

Post by red baron » Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:36 pm

Put the scripts in the scriopts folder which is located in the .blender file inside of the blender foundation program file. Then go inside of blender and click the big i. Then select scripts window at the bottom. Then, click on the scripts button, and then press at the bottom of that, update menus. You might have to restart blender, i'm not sure, but that should work
Chief Fleet Officer of ATVA and commander in the 398th.

User avatar
Crazypilot
Honorary Contributor
Honorary Contributor
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:22 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C
Location: Pakistan
Has thanked: 191 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: Opening planes in blender

Post by Crazypilot » Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:49 pm

Thankyou it works!
Boneless Pizza

User avatar
Honey Badger
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1843
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Anything that gets off the ground
Location: From Louisiana, stationed in Alabama
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: Opening planes in blender

Post by Honey Badger » Wed Aug 17, 2011 1:06 am

This was really helpful, except that I don't have the scripts window option.
USAF Computer Systems Programmer (3D0X4)
"Powerpoint Ranger"

User avatar
Crazypilot
Honorary Contributor
Honorary Contributor
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:22 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C
Location: Pakistan
Has thanked: 191 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: Opening planes in blender

Post by Crazypilot » Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:00 am

Well aragorn there is a strange thing I made it work on blender 2.49xx (It was already in my computer)I am using a different computer right now and blender 2.59 does NOT work with the scripts.
Boneless Pizza

User avatar
Honey Badger
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1843
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Anything that gets off the ground
Location: From Louisiana, stationed in Alabama
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: Opening planes in blender

Post by Honey Badger » Wed Aug 17, 2011 11:48 am

I've got 2.58. Someone said it wouldn't work but then you posted this. My manual is for 2.5.
USAF Computer Systems Programmer (3D0X4)
"Powerpoint Ranger"

User avatar
vincent
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:31 pm
Favorite Aircraft: virtual ones
Location: Toulouse, France
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: Opening planes in blender

Post by vincent » Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:49 pm

The scripts don't work with Blender 2.5
They only work with the 2.4x versions, so choose Blender 2.49b (which requires Python 2.6)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests