Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

YSFlight addon development, questions, tutorials, & more!
Post Reply
User avatar
Kilo 11
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 715
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:42 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Supermarine Spitfire
Location: Rohan, Middle Earth
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by Kilo 11 » Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:37 pm

by modifying the .dat file? By this I mean: removing hardpoints, adding other parts etc...
https://www.facebook.com/vnafairfest?fref=ts
VNAF AirFest staff 2012-2016
Virtual display pilot

User avatar
waspe414
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: CH-136 Kiowa
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 96 times

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by waspe414 » Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:41 pm

The .dat file only deals with the performance of the aircraft.

For example, if you add an afterburner to an A-10, the visual model will not show an afterburner.
Changing hardpoints modifies what weapons the program puts where. It will not affect the look of the aircraft, merely the stores it carries.

The only way to change the look of a plane is to modify the .dnm.
I stole your turnip. Now you must come and defend your honour. ~ Hank Green
Image
"Talon is a giant flower. That is all."

ToxicSkylinesMH10
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 10:30 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-22C
Location: 626
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by ToxicSkylinesMH10 » Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:57 pm

EDIT:

If your airplane has maybe a fuel tank on its underside, this is more of a modding thing. You would need to use Blender, or the original modding tools for this type of work.

.Dat would not be able to change that.

On the other hand, with .Dat you can change pretty much anything else.
Hard-points, Fuel Consumption, Thrust, etc. . . . .

Here is an example of .Dat and what you can change as far as weapons go. If I put the whole thing in here, I might get in trouble with a mod or something.
This is from the stock F-16.
I will Highlight in BOLD what you can change. And all these changes can be made by simply changing numbers.


POSITION 0m 3ft 0m #POSITION
ATTITUDE 45deg 0deg 0deg #ATTITUDE
INITFUEL 75% #INITIAL FUEL
INITLOAD 0.0t #INITIAL PAYLOAD
INITSPED 0.0MACH #INITIAL SPEED

Basically, below you can see these HRDPOINT entries. The more you have, the more you can load in the game.
The stock F-16 "limit' of weapons appears to be 999. However, you would need to theoretically copy and paste these HRDPOINTS THAT many times in order to have them in the game.

The .Dat also shows this, which is what you will always start with when you choose this plane. You can change these numbers if you dont want to start with any guns, missiles, etc. . . just put the number to zero.
If you want 999 Missiles and guns, you need to copy and paste the HRDPOINTS list that I was talking about above this.
fairly simple

INITIGUN 3000 #INITIAL GUN
INITIAAM 6 #INITIAL AAM
INITIAGM 6 #INITIAL AGM
INITAAMM 2





REM Slots must come before Inits.
HRDPOINT 5.195397m 0m -2.508057m AIM9 AIM120
HRDPOINT -5.195397m 0m -2.508057m AIM9 AIM120

HRDPOINT 3.16m -0.45m -2.660561m AIM9 AIM120 B250
HRDPOINT -3.16m -0.45m -2.660561m AIM9 AIM120 B250
HRDPOINT 4.03m -0.45m -2.660561m AIM9 AIM120 B250
HRDPOINT -4.03m -0.45m -2.660561m AIM9 AIM120 B250
HRDPOINT 3.59m -0.70m -2.660561m AIM9 B250
HRDPOINT -3.59m -0.70m -2.660561m AIM9 B250

HRDPOINT 2.64m -0.45m -1.84m AIM9 AGM65 B250
HRDPOINT -2.64m -0.45m -1.84m AIM9 AGM65 B250
HRDPOINT 1.77m -0.45m -1.84m AIM9 AGM65 B250
HRDPOINT -1.77m -0.45m -1.84m AIM9 AGM65 B250
HRDPOINT 2.2m -0.70m -1.84m AIM9 AGM65 B250 B500
HRDPOINT -2.2m -0.70m -1.84m AIM9 AGM65 B250 B500

HRDPOINT 4.6m -0.4m -3.3m RKT
HRDPOINT -4.6m -0.4m -3.3m RKT

MAXNMAAM 999
MAXNMAGM 999
MAXNBOMB 999
MAXNAAMM 999
MAXNMRKT 38
LMTBYHDP TRUE #Limit Max Num Weapon by Hardpoint

INITIGUN 3000 #INITIAL GUN
INITIAAM 6 #INITIAL AAM
INITIAGM 6 #INITIAL AGM
INITAAMM 2



Its all pretty straight forward to understand.

All stock airplane .Dat can be found in your "Aircraft" folder.
And all the .Dat of your addons, will all be found in your "USER" folder inside of the selected Modder's folder.


EDIT: Aww Waspe you stole the glory XD
Here, Il change my post to match yours up and give you the benefit of victory

User avatar
Animal
Animal
Animal
Posts: 581
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:27 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Unspecified
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 47 times

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by Animal » Thu Nov 10, 2011 3:20 pm

Or you could use hardpoints to add a drop tank.... you know.. cause we've had that functionality for most of a year now.
They say that he feeds upon the tears of newbs, and that he spent an entire day feeding an effigy of Ricm into a desk fan. All we know is, he's called Animal.

User avatar
decaff_42
Legend
Legend
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX 10.11.3
Has thanked: 464 times
Been thanked: 1056 times
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by decaff_42 » Mon Nov 21, 2011 4:59 pm

Would it be possible to have a hard point that had the capability for say a B500 and FUEL, but have different positions for both such that you wouldn't get severe overlap with the FUEL due to it's larger diameter?

What I'd like to do is assign the FUEL to a different height, but not make it another hardpoint which would allow a B500 to exist inside of it. Would I be able to do this by playing around with the max weapons?
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.

Feel free to ask me a question! I'll try to answer it as well as I can or recommend a more knowledgeable member if necessary.

User avatar
waspe414
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: CH-136 Kiowa
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 96 times

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by waspe414 » Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:27 pm

Unfortunately no.
I stole your turnip. Now you must come and defend your honour. ~ Hank Green
Image
"Talon is a giant flower. That is all."

User avatar
decaff_42
Legend
Legend
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX 10.11.3
Has thanked: 464 times
Been thanked: 1056 times
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by decaff_42 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 1:16 am

Is there a way that I can sort how the bombs get added then? That way I can add 6 bombs and then have 2 tanks, on 8 separate hard points?

When you weapons, they get loaded by a certain order. Is it the way they're listed in the .dat file that determines this order? If I can figure the order out, I can control where the bombs go on the wings and solve my problem.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.

Feel free to ask me a question! I'll try to answer it as well as I can or recommend a more knowledgeable member if necessary.

User avatar
waspe414
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: CH-136 Kiowa
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 96 times

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by waspe414 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:15 am

decaff_42 wrote:That way I can add 6 bombs and then have 2 tanks, on 8 separate hard points?
Make a new hardpoint line, only put FUEL after it. The other six can have B500 or B250 or whatever. They are then separate and unrelated hardpoints. On the new version (2011) it is possible to add a *# to the end, for example AGM65*8 will give you 8 AGMs on that hardpoint.
decaff_42 wrote:When you weapons, they get loaded by a certain order. Is it the way they're listed in the .dat file that determines this order?
Yes, as far as I can recall. First to last in the .dat will give you first to last in the load screen, barring all weapon type differences. (Logically, if you list B250 then AIM9 then B250, it's not going to load the AIM9 if you just set it to bombs. It will, however, load the first one first, the second one second.)
I stole your turnip. Now you must come and defend your honour. ~ Hank Green
Image
"Talon is a giant flower. That is all."

User avatar
decaff_42
Legend
Legend
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX 10.11.3
Has thanked: 464 times
Been thanked: 1056 times
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by decaff_42 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:19 am

Okay, I think I can get it from here. I'll have to do some fiddling after classes.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.

Feel free to ask me a question! I'll try to answer it as well as I can or recommend a more knowledgeable member if necessary.

User avatar
Flake
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4077
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Honda CBR600RR. Shit I mean Boeing F/A-18A.
Location: Newcastle, Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 734 times
Been thanked: 980 times

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by Flake » Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:41 am

This topic title is slightly misleading.

You could open the fueltank.srf in gepolyx, mass move all the verticies down a bit, save and then redo it? See as this is this issue would be the same for most addons.. .why not? ;)

User avatar
decaff_42
Legend
Legend
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX 10.11.3
Has thanked: 464 times
Been thanked: 1056 times
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by decaff_42 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 1:47 pm

That is a great idea, but I have no idea how to work gepolyx.

I'm on a mac and it seems that every YSF software but blender is windows based. While I have a boot camp partition, I cannot access it frequently due to power consumption.

Any chance you could move the vertices to be the same as a B500?
http://www.mediafire.com/?9ts7m25tw4691nt
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.

Feel free to ask me a question! I'll try to answer it as well as I can or recommend a more knowledgeable member if necessary.

User avatar
Flake
Staff
Staff
Posts: 4077
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Honda CBR600RR. Shit I mean Boeing F/A-18A.
Location: Newcastle, Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 734 times
Been thanked: 980 times

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by Flake » Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:43 pm

No... but maybe someone else can

If Gepolyx isn;t your cup of tea... You can do this:

Import the srf into a new dnm in dnmviewer.

Move that srf down a bit till the white axis line is in line with the top edge
ensure the checkbox for the visibility is set.
Save the dnm
Run the Ameshi Script "DNM2SRF"
Open and check the srf.
Replace original srf.

Sounds like a long process but it's actually quite fast.

User avatar
Taskforce 58
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 678
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:06 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-104, Tu-95, Piaggio Avanti
Location: YYZ VOR 062 radial, 17.5 DME
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 228 times
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by Taskforce 58 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:07 pm

If you just want to shift the SRF the easiest way is the with the Suzi tools utility called SRFMOVE. Just put in the offset amount, drag the SRF onto the SRFMOVE window, and done.
Image

User avatar
Kilo 11
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 715
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:42 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Supermarine Spitfire
Location: Rohan, Middle Earth
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by Kilo 11 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:28 pm

uhmm guys,...this topic was already solved weeks ago......
https://www.facebook.com/vnafairfest?fref=ts
VNAF AirFest staff 2012-2016
Virtual display pilot

User avatar
waspe414
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1101
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: CH-136 Kiowa
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 96 times

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by waspe414 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:31 pm

If you actually read the previous three posts you would understand that the focus of the topic has shifted slightly from its original question.
I stole your turnip. Now you must come and defend your honour. ~ Hank Green
Image
"Talon is a giant flower. That is all."

User avatar
decaff_42
Legend
Legend
Posts: 3334
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX 10.11.3
Has thanked: 464 times
Been thanked: 1056 times
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by decaff_42 » Wed Nov 23, 2011 4:38 am

Yes, I quite agree. Reading is an invaluable skill.

Seeing as I don't have the time to work on making the tank srf change mentioned above (Stupid research paper), I edited the .dat file of the one major plane I wanted to change and moved the order of the hardpoints around to make loading the weapons easier. The pylons with the FUEL options are listed after every other B500 hardpoint so that I can control the placement and number of the bombs while still being able to have a decent looking fuel tank. I have separate hardpoints dedicated to the tanks that overlap with other B500 positions (the overlaped B500 positions are listed after all the other B500 hardpoints and before the dedicated fuel hardpoints), but the order of the hardpoint placement makes it possible for me to leave the Fuel positions open.

It's a lot of work compared to the srf editing, but for the moment, it solves my problem. Once I get more time, the srf is going to be helpless before my editing mouse.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.

Feel free to ask me a question! I'll try to answer it as well as I can or recommend a more knowledgeable member if necessary.

User avatar
Kilo 11
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 715
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:42 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Supermarine Spitfire
Location: Rohan, Middle Earth
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by Kilo 11 » Wed Nov 23, 2011 8:10 pm

Shutter wrote:
READING: AMAZING LIFESKILL!
.....ahah........
https://www.facebook.com/vnafairfest?fref=ts
VNAF AirFest staff 2012-2016
Virtual display pilot

Shutter

Re: Is it possible to modify the looks of an aircraft.??

Post by Shutter » Fri Nov 25, 2011 5:25 pm

I'm just kidding around bud, don't take it personally.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest