Software that trips up YSFlight

YSFlight general discussion & everything in between
Post Reply
User avatar
acf492
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:18 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Software that trips up YSFlight

Post by acf492 » Fri Oct 21, 2011 4:46 am

Hi,

just solved a problem on my end, wanted to share. Maybe this could be part of a bigger thread, but couldn't find one.

YSFlight, OpenGL version, where it previously worked fine, started up with a white screen area, then hung. Found running WinXP SP3.
gtk+-2.6.10-20050823(gtk+-2.6.10-20050823-setup.exe)

-acf
Intercontinental Airways VA Pilot #IA002 | 57th Polyvalent Squadron, Cargo Division "Cliff Scrapers", CO | Pilot's logbook
Image

User avatar
Gunny
Business Class Membership
Business Class Membership
Posts: 3139
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Any thing with a prop.
Location: New Iberia.LA.
OS: Windows XP SP3
Has thanked: 516 times
Been thanked: 642 times

Re: Software that trips up YSFlight

Post by Gunny » Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:42 am

How about translating that for those of us who don't do cyberspeak. :D

User avatar
Welshy
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1765
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Sea Harrier FA2
Location: Chepstow, Old South Wales
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 69 times
Contact:

Re: Software that trips up YSFlight

Post by Welshy » Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:50 pm

MY ADVICE:

What you need to do first its try and kill anything which doesn't need to be running, this can be done either via Task Manager of by running MSCONFIG from the run dialog. I don't think it is the OS although I did get it hung sometimes (due to having a lose stick of RAM :P)

If not please feel free to contact me and (if you want me to) I will use Teamviewer to have a look

YSFHQ Elected Admin
Officer Commanding VMFA-125 (CVW-171)

If you see me post like this in a thread pay attention!


User avatar
Timmayx
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:38 pm
Favorite Aircraft: English Electric Lightning
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Software that trips up YSFlight

Post by Timmayx » Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:29 am

You can get a pretty decent performance boost just my disabling sounds on YS. Very noticeable when I first started playing (on a Pentium 3 with 500mhz processor) but I still disable them now, mainly as I'm just not a fan of them.
"Live a good life. If there are gods and they are just, then they will not care how devout you have been, but will welcome you based on the virtues you have lived by. If there are gods, but unjust, then you should not want to worship them. If there are no gods, then you will be gone, but will have lived a noble life that will live on in the memories of your loved ones. "

User avatar
Welshy
Staff
Staff
Posts: 1765
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Sea Harrier FA2
Location: Chepstow, Old South Wales
OS: Windows 10
Has thanked: 104 times
Been thanked: 69 times
Contact:

Re: Software that trips up YSFlight

Post by Welshy » Wed Oct 26, 2011 9:56 am

I also disable the sound!!!! but it does depend on where it trips up. Try disabling the demo which comes up on start!

YSFHQ Elected Admin
Officer Commanding VMFA-125 (CVW-171)

If you see me post like this in a thread pay attention!


User avatar
Gunny
Business Class Membership
Business Class Membership
Posts: 3139
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Any thing with a prop.
Location: New Iberia.LA.
OS: Windows XP SP3
Has thanked: 516 times
Been thanked: 642 times

Re: Software that trips up YSFlight

Post by Gunny » Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:29 am

And if you havent already disable the screen shots as well.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests