Contrails on command

YSFlight addon development, questions, tutorials, & more!
Post Reply
User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3575
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 635 times
Been thanked: 1386 times
Contact:

Contrails on command

Post by decaff_42 » Sun Nov 20, 2011 1:13 am

I'm trying to figure out how to use the smoke generator to make contrails on command.

Things I'd like to do:
-Assign the smoke to a key to allow for high altitude combat. Basically I don't want to have to hold down my mouse button to get the smoke.
-Move the start of the smoke farther back behind the plane to simulate a real contrail.

Is it possible to do these things in the .dat file for a plane, or is this something I'd have to do in the .dnm?
I can make the smoke appear farther back in the .dat, but how do I assign it to a key to have and on/off capability?
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
FrenchTOZT
CVW-171
CVW-171
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-65
Location: Live music capitol of the world.
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Contrails on command

Post by FrenchTOZT » Sun Nov 20, 2011 1:18 am

You can add smoke generation points, and then select smoke. Or, you can add an animation to an aircraft, and assign a key to it.
Image
Team Awesome# Whatever. ALPHA-5 OF THE TA-RANGERS Part of the f**king problem

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3575
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 635 times
Been thanked: 1386 times
Contact:

Re: Contrails on command

Post by decaff_42 » Sun Nov 20, 2011 1:39 am

To add the smoke generation points is that just adding an extra line under SMOKEGEN 0.0m -0.64m 0.64m #SMOKE GENERATOR POSITION?

What I'd like to do is assign a key to the smoke generator so that I can have an on/off toggle to free up my mouse key to launch missiles or pop flares. Is this a possibility? I have zero experience with modding anything other than the .dat file. Would it be possible to assign a key to the smoke generator in the .dat file?
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
FrenchTOZT
CVW-171
CVW-171
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-65
Location: Live music capitol of the world.
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Contrails on command

Post by FrenchTOZT » Sun Nov 20, 2011 2:01 am

Well, you can add another line, but you need to move the variables, if you want it in another place. There is not a button for smoke, it is only ordinance.
Image
Team Awesome# Whatever. ALPHA-5 OF THE TA-RANGERS Part of the f**king problem

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3575
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 635 times
Been thanked: 1386 times
Contact:

Re: Contrails on command

Post by decaff_42 » Sun Nov 20, 2011 2:05 am

So I can't assign smoke to a key? Dang...
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
Dragon029
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:09 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-35A
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 85 times
Contact:

Re: Contrails on command

Post by Dragon029 » Sun Nov 20, 2011 2:29 am

FrenchTOZT wrote:Well, you can add another line, but you need to move the variables, if you want it in another place. There is not a button for smoke, it is only ordinance.

Actually, you can assign smoke in controls, it's below all the "Fire AAM", "Fire AGM", etc and above the "Radar" and "Radar Range Up", etc ones.
You can assign it to either a key or flightstick button.
Royal Australian Air Force
Per Ardua Ad Astra
>>> Dragon Addon Pack <<<
(PAK-FA, F/A-52, F/A-36, MQ-21)

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3575
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 635 times
Been thanked: 1386 times
Contact:

Re: Contrails on command

Post by decaff_42 » Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:06 am

Thanks a million Dragon,

I assigned the smoke to \ and then after that I hold it then press the shift key to make the smoke stay without any constant button pressing by me.

Image

EDIT: Gotta give credit where credit is due. INTRODUCING KURO'S AMAZING CAMO BUFF!
Last edited by decaff_42 on Tue Nov 22, 2011 1:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

Iceman
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 1399
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C Viper
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Contrails on command

Post by Iceman » Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:06 pm

That's a mighty fine Buff you got there, mate.
You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '' at line 1
Homie I'll SQL YOUR syntax

User avatar
Crazypilot
Honorary Contributor
Honorary Contributor
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:22 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C
Location: Pakistan
Has thanked: 192 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: Contrails on command

Post by Crazypilot » Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:35 pm

I'll say!Where'd you get it?
Boneless Pizza

User avatar
halberdier25
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1386
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:05 am
Favorite Aircraft: Unspecified
Location: Pgh
Has thanked: 169 times
Been thanked: 198 times
Contact:

Re: Contrails on command

Post by halberdier25 » Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:17 pm

Kuro.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest