antialiasing in YS

YSFlight general discussion & everything in between
Post Reply
User avatar
Eric
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1538
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:30 am
Favorite Aircraft: Super Hornet
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 166 times
Contact:

antialiasing in YS

Post by Eric » Mon Jan 16, 2012 7:13 pm

If your graphics driver software doesn't have an option for antialiasing on/off, is there a way to launch YS with AA enabled, possibly via some 3rd party software?
I make this website.

User avatar
Dragon029
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:09 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-35A
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 85 times
Contact:

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Dragon029 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:39 am

What graphics drivers are you using?

As for the question, I have no idea Image
Royal Australian Air Force
Per Ardua Ad Astra
>>> Dragon Addon Pack <<<
(PAK-FA, F/A-52, F/A-36, MQ-21)

User avatar
Honey Badger
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1843
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Anything that gets off the ground
Location: From Louisiana, stationed in Alabama
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Honey Badger » Tue Jan 17, 2012 3:42 am

I was positive I saw this in the various options menus (in YS) but I've been tearing out hair trying to find it since.
USAF Computer Systems Programmer (3D0X4)
"Powerpoint Ranger"

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3591
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 1410 times
Contact:

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by decaff_42 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:50 pm

You mean turning AA on in YSF? It's under Option->Config->OpenGL @ the bottom
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
Raven
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16
Location: Eastern, USA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Raven » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:20 pm

decaff_42 wrote:You mean turning AA on in YSF? It's under Option->Config->OpenGL @ the bottom
Is it?

Image
Image
Image
"The Aggressor Order"

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3591
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 1410 times
Contact:

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by decaff_42 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 9:28 pm

Raven wrote: Is it?
You Betcha! Mac FTW

Image
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

Shutter

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Shutter » Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:00 pm

Lol. Must be a difference in the mac version I guess.

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3591
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 1410 times
Contact:

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by decaff_42 » Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:21 pm

You'd think they'd be the same, but maybe it has to do with the type of graphics cards macs are generally using. Since I'm running the 2011 version, the mac version is probably geared for the intel chips and newer graphics cards.

I've got a built in Intel HD graphics card and a NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
Raven
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16
Location: Eastern, USA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Raven » Tue Jan 17, 2012 11:26 pm

AA is done through my NVIDIA control panel, along with all the other G-Card settings.
Image
Image
"The Aggressor Order"

User avatar
Honey Badger
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1843
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Anything that gets off the ground
Location: From Louisiana, stationed in Alabama
Has thanked: 226 times
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Honey Badger » Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:38 am

I think I saw it on an XP comp. I have windows 7 which may explain why I can't find it now.
USAF Computer Systems Programmer (3D0X4)
"Powerpoint Ranger"

Shutter

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Shutter » Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:43 am

Raven wrote:AA is done through my NVIDIA control panel, along with all the other G-Card settings.
Ditto.

User avatar
Eric
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1538
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:30 am
Favorite Aircraft: Super Hornet
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 166 times
Contact:

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Eric » Wed Jan 18, 2012 1:57 am

Using an Intel GMA 945 Express (really crappy vid card) on my laptop. I know how to do it with ATI/Nvidia control panel, but Intel only has an option for Animstrophic filering (however you spell that). AFAIK, you have to have an exe with AA builtin or it will revert to default (not enabled). I thought there was a way to run the program in a "graphical proxy" so that the proxy would just AA everything and display it.
I make this website.

User avatar
Raven
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:35 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16
Location: Eastern, USA
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Raven » Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:33 am

erict15 wrote:Using an Intel GMA 945 Express (really crappy vid card) on my laptop. I know how to do it with ATI/Nvidia control panel, but Intel only has an option for Animstrophic filering (however you spell that). AFAIK, you have to have an exe with AA builtin or it will revert to default (not enabled). I thought there was a way to run the program in a "graphical proxy" so that the proxy would just AA everything and display it.
Excellent.
Image
Image
"The Aggressor Order"

Shutter

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Shutter » Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:33 am

May as well just try anisotropic. The end effect is more or less the same. It does shapes and not contours, but yeah.

User avatar
Eric
Senior Veteran
Senior Veteran
Posts: 1538
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:30 am
Favorite Aircraft: Super Hornet
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 166 times
Contact:

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Eric » Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:41 am

Thanks for the tips everyone. I'll just use anistrophic filtering for now.
I make this website.

Maroon 5
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 548
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 1:46 am
Favorite Aircraft: 767
Location: Los Angeles
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Maroon 5 » Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:27 am

Hehehe... I figured how to antialias in YS Flight. If you are using a Mac, just go to config>option>OpenGL and check Antialiasing.

If you are using a PC, go to your YS Flight Directory, which is usually C:\Program Files\YSFLIGHT.COM\YSFLIGHT\ and double click on the "config" folder. Open the "flight.cfg" file with a text editor. Scroll down to the third to last entry in the file. It should say "ANTIALIAS FALSE." Change it to "ANTIALIAS TRUE." Then open fsmaino.exe (It only works with OpenGL). Enjoy. Expect %@&!ed up frame rates.
Looking for a unique security and malware forum? Look no further than www.styxnet.pw

Boom
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 10:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-15, F-22
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: antialiasing in YS

Post by Boom » Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:58 pm

find the config in ysflight.com folder and edit it in notepad =)

and also, you were looking for it in direct3d under the opengl tab in 1st pic. try it in opengl, that might work.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests