DHR1's Hangar 14

YSFlight addon development, questions, tutorials, & more!
User avatar
Dragonheart R1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:40 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737-300
Location: Moses Lake, WA, United States
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Dragonheart R1 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:56 am

Welcome to my hangar. Here, you can see what aircraft are currently undergoing a repaint. To start, here's a mystery aircraft:
Image
The reason for the mystery is because I'm currently in an impromptu competition with zak. He's confident he's gonna win, but I think you guys may like what I'm working on.
Image
Image
Image

Iceman
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 1399
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:47 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C Viper
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Iceman » Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:44 am

Why would you hide what you're trying to show off? :roll:
You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '' at line 1
Homie I'll SQL YOUR syntax

User avatar
Dragonheart R1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:40 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737-300
Location: Moses Lake, WA, United States
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Dragonheart R1 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:50 am

Dragonheart R1 wrote:The reason for the mystery is because I'm currently in an impromptu competition with zak.
I don't want him to see what I am working on just yet. Only when I finish the model will he be able to see it.
Last edited by Dragonheart R1 on Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Flake
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 4354
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 836 times
Been thanked: 1238 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Flake » Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:16 am

Then what was the point? :lol:
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

User avatar
Dragonheart R1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:40 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737-300
Location: Moses Lake, WA, United States
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Dragonheart R1 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:32 am

Future works in progress. When the model is finished, I'll put the unmodified WIP picture here.
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Dragonheart R1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:40 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737-300
Location: Moses Lake, WA, United States
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Dragonheart R1 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:54 am

Well, I WAS working on a mesh for that F-16C, but for some reason, after I exported the file, it disappeared on me, never to return again. Here's what the emblem WOULD HAVE looked like: Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Crazypilot
Honorary Contributor
Honorary Contributor
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:22 pm
Favorite Aircraft: F-16C
Location: Pakistan
Has thanked: 192 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Crazypilot » Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:59 am

COMMENCE THE OMNOM-ing
Boneless Pizza

User avatar
Dragonheart R1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:40 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737-300
Location: Moses Lake, WA, United States
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Dragonheart R1 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:00 am

Took me three hours to make, too, which is more than the time it takes for me to finish a whole HAVA airliner. I is depressed. :c
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Flake
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 4354
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 836 times
Been thanked: 1238 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Flake » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:25 am

This is why you should save in native format, and save often, before exporting.
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

User avatar
Dragonheart R1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:40 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737-300
Location: Moses Lake, WA, United States
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Dragonheart R1 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:27 am

Flake wrote:This is why you should save in native format, and save often, before exporting.
You don't get it. It was the FINAL save when it disappeared.
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Flake
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 4354
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 836 times
Been thanked: 1238 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Flake » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:43 am

MAYBE it's not truely gone. Try searching your recycle bin, and running a full search.

open blender, and save a new file, and try and see the save location.
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

User avatar
Dragonheart R1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:40 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737-300
Location: Moses Lake, WA, United States
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Dragonheart R1 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:55 am

Nope, it's completely gone. I keep track of where I put my models, and I never deleted it. I overwrote the old file like I normally do, but this was that off chance where it erased the contents of the file. Therefore, I'm going to remake it tomorrow and save it properly, or at least stick it on my model.
Image
Image
Image

Shutter

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Shutter » Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:56 am

The .dnm might not be empty. Have you checked in notepad?

User avatar
Dragonheart R1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:40 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737-300
Location: Moses Lake, WA, United States
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Dragonheart R1 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:00 pm

Shutter wrote:The .dnm might not be empty. Have you checked in notepad?
It was a .srf, and it said 0 bytes. I started the basic new model, and it says 404 bytes, so I know my old model was erased somehow.
Image
Image
Image

Shutter

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Shutter » Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:01 pm

You probably didn't select the .srf before exporting then.

User avatar
vandal
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 1167
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 3:16 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Tornado GR4
Location: Great Britain
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by vandal » Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:05 pm

I have the same problem exporting .srf's from blender. so all my work is exported as dnm.
Image
Awesome 171st pilot
>>>I am the shadow, and the smoke in your eyes. I am the ghost, that hides in the night<<<
Used to be an Admin, but then I rage quit. Now just one of you normal rejects
Also known as Princess Vandel

User avatar
Dragonheart R1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:40 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737-300
Location: Moses Lake, WA, United States
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Dragonheart R1 » Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:21 pm

Shutter wrote:You probably didn't select the .srf before exporting then.
I made sure I did, so that's not the case.
vandal wrote:I have the same problem exporting .srf's from blender. so all my work is exported as dnm.
This is the first time this has happened to me. I have my personal emblem as an .srf, and it works fine. This next time around, though, I'm going to export as a .dnm.
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Dragonheart R1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:40 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737-300
Location: Moses Lake, WA, United States
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Dragonheart R1 » Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:31 am

Well, it almost happened again, but luckily I was keeping track of the file. For some VERY odd reason, it'd let me export once to the .srf, but not twice. When I did it twice, it would show as 0 bytes again. Therefore, I exported as a .dnm, and it stayed put, allowing me to import it to the model. Now I got one more patch to do, then I'll be finished.
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Flake
Core Staff
Core Staff
Posts: 4354
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 836 times
Been thanked: 1238 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Flake » Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:30 am

AH!

Looks like blender isn't saying it's "done" with the file.

My thoughts are it says "i wanna write to this"
It doesn't exist.
start writing shit then. (xyzbytes written)
done
... should i say I'm done? Pfft nah.

Next time:
"I wanna write to this!"
Open file for writing.
it exists already...
Someone else is using it.
Better not write anything.
Done with file.
Result (0 bytes)

I've had the issue before with dnm viewer.
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

User avatar
Dragonheart R1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 9:40 am
Favorite Aircraft: 737-300
Location: Moses Lake, WA, United States
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: DHR1's Hangar 14

Post by Dragonheart R1 » Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:20 am

Flake wrote:AH!

Looks like blender isn't saying it's "done" with the file.

My thoughts are it says "i wanna write to this"
It doesn't exist.
start writing shit then. (xyzbytes written)
done
... should i say I'm done? Pfft nah.

Next time:
"I wanna write to this!"
Open file for writing.
it exists already...
Someone else is using it.
Better not write anything.
Done with file.
Result (0 bytes)

I've had the issue before with dnm viewer.
Yeah, that sounds about right. So, my options are (A.) don't save until I'm ABSOLUTELY finished, or (B.) save as a different file type. I'll choose either one depending on how complex the project is.
Image
Image
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests