.DAT Variables

Topics about .dat, .srf, .dnm, .ist, Blender, Gepoly, etc.
Grigor
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:57 am
Favorite Aircraft: Ball-Bartoe Jetwing
OS: Windows XP
Has thanked: 59 times
Been thanked: 121 times

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Grigor » Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:31 am

I was just looking at www.heinkel.jp/next releases and everyone's raving about getting their hands on those FLARES. It never occurred to me (until a second ago) that the WPNSHAPE command can be used to CHANGE THE FLARE SHAPE AND COLOUR!! I've never liked the red whirly thing, but assumed it was something permanently built-in and set. Just use this command:

WPNSHAPE FLR FLYING miscflare.srf

...assuming you've made a nice looking flare.srf file and put it in the misc folder with the other weapons. This, I feel, needs to be shouted from the rooftops.

Merry Ithsmus!

Shutter

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Shutter » Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:30 am

Dragon figured that one out ages ago :lol:

Interestingly, I think you can change rounds too but apparently they stay in an orientation independent of the plane so it looks retarded.

User avatar
Shiny Rice
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1389
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Su-35
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Shiny Rice » Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:19 am

And I think that Animal said that you can only change them with monopoly models. It will look plain, but at least you can change them.
CO of the 57th Cloud Rippers
"We rip those clouds apart so you can see the sun!"
Now 100% more decomissioned!

Shutter

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Shutter » Wed Dec 19, 2012 1:54 pm

Rise and Shine wrote:And I think that Animal said that you can only change them with monopoly models. It will look plain, but at least you can change them.

I'm guessing you mean "single polygon" but for some reason I imagined a plane shooting...

Image



as bullets.
...yeah

User avatar
Shiny Rice
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1389
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Su-35
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Shiny Rice » Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:25 pm

Yes, I meant a single polygon, I knew someone was going to post that. By the way, which line allows you to change rounds' models?
CO of the 57th Cloud Rippers
"We rip those clouds apart so you can see the sun!"
Now 100% more decomissioned!

User avatar
Flake
VFA-49
VFA-49
Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 838 times
Been thanked: 1247 times
Contact:

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Flake » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:17 pm

Just like changing any other model. Just specify "GUN" as the weapon. right? (never tried this)
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

Shutter

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Shutter » Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:55 am

I dunno, just try it? How do you think we figure this stuff out?

User avatar
Flake
VFA-49
VFA-49
Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 838 times
Been thanked: 1247 times
Contact:

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Flake » Thu Dec 20, 2012 4:39 am

I know. I'm just pitching the idea, I don't really want to dredge back through my modding stuff and change it. I've never done any weapon swaps and I'm sure it'd take some time... :|
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

Shutter

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Shutter » Thu Dec 20, 2012 4:50 am

OfficerFlake wrote:I know. I'm just pitching the idea, I don't really want to dredge back through my modding stuff and change it. I've never done any weapon swaps and I'm sure it'd take some time... :|
Was talking to rise.

User avatar
Flake
VFA-49
VFA-49
Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 838 times
Been thanked: 1247 times
Contact:

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Flake » Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:39 am

Oh. :oops:

Okay, carry on :lol:
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

Shutter

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Shutter » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:40 am

no it's on me for not quoting. :oops:

Aaaaaanyways, anyone got a good idea of how exactly the program takes critical speed into consideration? Been reading up on it and I can't quite figure out how it would be applied to ys.

User avatar
Gunny
Business Class Membership
Business Class Membership
Posts: 3224
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Any thing with a prop.
Location: New Iberia.LA.
OS: Windows XP SP3
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 733 times

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Gunny » Thu Dec 20, 2012 12:29 pm

Well critical speed in actual function means the speed the aircraft starts having structural failure issues.Not to be confused with over speed.Although I don't think that could happen in ysflight.except maybe in a power dive.It would probably look like a stall with no possibility of recovery.But I never really tried it.
Image[/align=centre]

User avatar
Shiny Rice
57th Polyvalent Sq
57th Polyvalent Sq
Posts: 1389
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:28 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Su-35
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Shiny Rice » Thu Dec 20, 2012 6:21 pm

I have tried the most obvious one, "GUNSHAPE" but doesn't work. I'll try more now. It gives me an error when selecting the plane that has been modified, too.
Might be the proof that tells I'm close to hit the right nail.

Edit: Found it. You can have a model with more than a polygon, and the models will be 90 degrees pointed to the right in the game instead of being straight.
To have other models than that shitty line, here's the line (for the .dat)

WPNSHAPE GUN weapons/whatever.srf

And I tried it with a Sparrow, imagine the possibilities. Somewhat real lasers. Missles, chainsaws or puppies coming out of machineguns.
CO of the 57th Cloud Rippers
"We rip those clouds apart so you can see the sun!"
Now 100% more decomissioned!

User avatar
Gunny
Business Class Membership
Business Class Membership
Posts: 3224
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Any thing with a prop.
Location: New Iberia.LA.
OS: Windows XP SP3
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 733 times

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Gunny » Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:16 pm

CRITSPED=A much simpler definition of critical speed = Critical velocity is the speed that a falling object reaches when gravity and air resistance equalize on the object. Or when an airframe starts to fly as apposed to stalling.I was over thinking the subject as critical props speeds where vibration starts to occur. :oops:
Image[/align=centre]

User avatar
Flake
VFA-49
VFA-49
Posts: 4357
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:47 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Boeing F/A-18A
Location: Australia
OS: Windows 10 (x64)
Has thanked: 838 times
Been thanked: 1247 times
Contact:

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Flake » Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:18 pm

So then Critspeed is actually just Terminal Velocity?
I am an accountant working full-time (and some). I'm not here as often as I would like to be. Send a message if you need me. There are a few people in the community who can get in contact with me urgently if you need - don't be afraid to ask. I just don't check here as frequently as I used to. Sorry!

User avatar
Gunny
Business Class Membership
Business Class Membership
Posts: 3224
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Any thing with a prop.
Location: New Iberia.LA.
OS: Windows XP SP3
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 733 times

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Gunny » Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:52 pm

Basically yes Flake but giving Soji proclivity's for the English language?
Image[/align=centre]

User avatar
Dragon029
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:09 am
Favorite Aircraft: F-35A
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 85 times
Contact:

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Dragon029 » Sun Dec 23, 2012 2:59 pm

It could also potentially relate to critical Mach number, which is the speed when part of an aircraft first goes supersonic. This is generally a subsonic speed between Mach 0.7 and 0.99.

The reason I think it could be the Crit Mach number is that there are all sorts of aerodynamic effects that are related to it - it generally signifies the start of the jump in drag that occurs when breaking the sound barrier.

Image

The critical Mach number for this aircraft / graph is where the line steeply rises, at about Mach 0.8.

On a low-drag aircraft like a modern supersonic fighter (Eurofighter, etc) it isn't really significant, but if you're trying to simulate something like an F-35 properly (and assuming the 'crit speed' is the crit mach number) then you could utilise it and the other entries to make it so that you couldn't go supersonic without afterburner, but once you had boosted past the sound barrier, you could sustain it on military power.

(In that graph, using afterburner to get up and over Cd 1.0, then dropping back to military power (turning off afterburners) once you'd gone over the drag peak.)
Per Ardua Ad Astra
>>> Dragon Addon Pack <<<
(PAK-FA, F/A-52, F/A-36, MQ-21)

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 674 times
Been thanked: 1459 times
Contact:

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by decaff_42 » Sun Dec 23, 2012 7:05 pm

That's actually really interesting. Makes me less impressed with super-cruise aircraft though.

This would be a cool feature to have in YSF where depending on mach number the Cd would change according to a few datum points (Cd, Mach).

I know there are a few planes where you can just go military power and go supersonic.

I always thought that the critspeed line dealt with the maximum airframe speed, not necessarily the max speed the aircraft could attain under power.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

User avatar
Gunny
Business Class Membership
Business Class Membership
Posts: 3224
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:17 pm
Favorite Aircraft: Any thing with a prop.
Location: New Iberia.LA.
OS: Windows XP SP3
Has thanked: 577 times
Been thanked: 733 times

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by Gunny » Sun Dec 23, 2012 7:22 pm

There are some error messages that read critical speed is faster than max speed or max speed is less than critical speed.But basically they both mean the same.I see that a lot on servers.
Image[/align=centre]

User avatar
decaff_42
Staff
Staff
Posts: 3616
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 7:23 pm
Favorite Aircraft: SR-71 Blackbird
Location: Eastern United States
OS: Mac OSX
Has thanked: 674 times
Been thanked: 1459 times
Contact:

Re: .Dat Variables

Post by decaff_42 » Sun Dec 23, 2012 7:33 pm

oh yeah! There's a mig-15 DPRK that I get that error for when I fly it.
Check out my website YSDecaff for all my tutorials and addon releases.
Visit by Bitbucket page for Python codes: https://bitbucket.org/decaff42/

Server Flight Log
Addon Database Submit Addon To Database

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests