Page 1 of 1

Scenery problem

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:23 am
by Maverick
Hey guys i have a question. Recently i started making map, but i ran into a problem with scenery being funky in game.

This is how it looks in Scenery editor.
Image

And this is how it looks like in game.
Image

I don't believe i had this problem in past version of YS flight. They only way that it shows up correctly is if i fly under OpenGL 1.x.
I also noticed that chunks of scenery have been missing in game, maybe it was my fault.

I started creating the map with old scenery editor (One before 2013 test) and putting the maps into the ysflight 2013 directory. After opening the map up in the new scenery editor, and saving it to the ysflight 2013 directory same problem.

Is this a known issue, or am i doing something wrong? any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Re: Scenery problem

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:59 am
by VNAF ONE
'well, I do know that once you open a map in the 2013 scenery editor, it no longer works with the older version. Also, I'm not exactly sure what the issue is here. If that is how it looks in scenery editor and when you fly, then what's wrong? Maybe a picture of what you're seeing in OpenGL or what it's supposed to look like will help us understand. I'd love to help you out but I just don't understand the circumstance.

Re: Scenery problem

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:24 am
by Maverick
Sorry i didn't explain. If you notice in scenery editor the number is "36-18" but in game, when i fly, the numbers become distorted. the number now looks like "36-13" with the six its self being distorted. I have several of those across various spots on the airport, even the actual runway numbers are sort of distorted (i will post a pic tmorow). Im not sure what the problem can be.


Like i said if i fly in opengl 1x it shows up fine, same as it appears in scenery editor. if i use open gl 2 or direct 3d d9 it appears like in the second pic i posted.

Re: Scenery problem

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 5:57 am
by decaff_42
I don't know what the problem is, but I do know that the most recent version of YSF has some shading issues with really small polygons, but that doesn't look like what is going on here...so yeah...I've got no other ideas.

Re: Scenery problem

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 6:08 am
by waspe414
This issue's been around for a while. The only solution I know is to patch it with polygons.
There may be a setting somewhere, converting the numbers into a (set of) regular polygon(s) or something.

Re: Scenery problem

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:16 am
by VNAF ONE
Yup, what ^he said. Now I get what you meant. Ya besides patching it up, I have just gotten used to having the issue and I just ignore it I guess.

Re: Scenery problem

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 8:39 am
by Gunny
I had the same problem with spotting the (Error). And as VNAF & wasp has said it is one of the glitches of the software inherent to it.So short of patching there is not much to be done except excepting what you can not change. ;)

Re: Scenery problem

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:14 pm
by Maverick
Thanks for the input guys, i will use the patching work around.

Re: Scenery problem

Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2018 1:01 am
by waspe414
Five year and one day necro, but I finally sat down and figured out a fix for this. The issue, present in D3D and OGL2 executables (but a distinct non-issue in OGL1), is that YS is trying to render the letters' polygons with overlapping vertices at exactly the same point. Overlapping the lines in a polygon will make YS just not render it at all, but vertices in exactly the same spot only breaks the immediately adjacent triangles. To get around the problem, just split the letters into multiple polygons using the Map > Split Polygon tool, select two vertices to split the polygon into two polygons that don't self-overlap, and hit space to finalize.

A handy guide for where to cut:
Image