Blender Addon

YSFlight addon development, questions, tutorials, & more!
Post Reply
abcjake
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:55 pm
Favorite Aircraft: A-51 E Mudshark
Location: United States of America

Blender Addon

Post by abcjake » Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:43 am

I am trying to import my dnm file using blender. When I go to install the necessary addons, the menu says: "One or more addons is not Unicode UTF-8 encoded". I would imagine this means I didn't install the addon correctly. Yes, I have followed all the instructions I have found on the forums. I have tried everything I could think of. Any solutions? I can use another editor if I have to.



Thanks

Shutter

Re: Blender Addon

Post by Shutter » Fri Dec 21, 2012 2:44 am

open it in a text editor like notepad and make sure you save it with UTF-8 encoding

abcjake
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:55 pm
Favorite Aircraft: A-51 E Mudshark
Location: United States of America

Re: Blender Addon

Post by abcjake » Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:26 pm

Alright, I tried that. This time, the UTF-* encode error didn't show. The addon didn't show either. I've tried replacing some of the existing and working codes with the code from this one, but the error shows again.

Any more ideas? I don't absolutely have to use blender, I can use a different program.

User avatar
NavyGator
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:34 am
Favorite Aircraft: Prop-Driven civil
Location: near Airport HXD
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 57 times

Re: Blender Addon

Post by NavyGator » Fri Dec 21, 2012 4:05 pm

abcjake wrote:Alright, I tried that. This time, the UTF-* encode error didn't show. The addon didn't show either. I've tried replacing some of the existing and working codes with the code from this one, but the error shows again.

Any more ideas? I don't absolutely have to use blender, I can use a different program.
It may be saving it using a the wrong file extention. Sometimes I'll catch notepad trying to save things as .txt instead of the extention that I need it to be saved as.
Image

abcjake
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:55 pm
Favorite Aircraft: A-51 E Mudshark
Location: United States of America

Re: Blender Addon

Post by abcjake » Fri Dec 21, 2012 6:03 pm

No, I have been saving it as a ".py" file, encoded with UTF-8. When I put it in the blender addon folder, it still doesn't show. I have to manually select the file, and it doesn't do a thing.

User avatar
vincent
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:31 pm
Favorite Aircraft: virtual ones
Location: Toulouse, France
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: Blender Addon

Post by vincent » Tue Dec 25, 2012 10:43 pm

I am quite surprised by this error.

Do you have a screenshot of the error please?
If it is was I think, I'll post a fix.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests